External GPU enclosure with Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by laurent05, Jan 23, 2012.

1. laurent05 macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

I recently found this on the web.
    I'm really a noob in computer hardware, but is this enclosure powerfull enough to handle for example a HD6950?

If so, this would really pull the trigger for me getting a 13" mbp.

Thx in advance.

2. dusk007, Jan 23, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2012

dusk007 macrumors 68040

dusk007

I guess a 6950 would be a bit limited by the connection.
    It is not PCIe x16 nor x8 that a 6950 gets on any desktop mainboard. It is more like x4 or even less like x2.5
    Depending on the game and how much it streams of the interface it has a huge impact or a small one.
    I would still say it is reasonable to put something up to a 6850/70 or a Nvidia 560 Ti into such a box. Beyond that it is just a waste of money and energy and limited too much. That is the highest I would go but for 1280x800 screen less ist probably still more than good enough.
    Still such a desktop class GPU will crush even the highend Notebook GPUs unless the slow thunderbolt connection limits in certain engines. Usually if there is a lot of texture streaming that is the case as it is with Microsoft Filght Simulator or the Call of Duty engine also relies greatly on the PCIe speed.

PS: Did you read the 150W limit? That sort of limits the range of GPUs that work anyway and excludes a 6950.

3. snaky69 macrumors 603

I don't believe the full specs are out yet, which means nobody really knows the answer to your question. I do know that it's currently windows only.

Buying a laptop to tether it to a desk with such a thing which will cost the dock + the graphics card in it kind of defeats the purpose of buying a laptop in the first place.

For that amount of money you could've built quite the gaming rig, but that's just me.

4. ELA2 macrumors member