External Hard drive detected and working fine on Windows but not on Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by azizj, Aug 19, 2012.

  1. azizj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #1
    I have a WD My passport 500GB HDD and it works fine on windows but when I plug it to my Macbook it powers up but I can't see it, I trued going to Disk Utility and I still couldn't see it and I downloaded and Installed Tuxera NTFS, and it's still not showing up, please help me, most of my stuff are in this Hard drive and I really needed to work without formatting it!
     
  2. Fallinangel macrumors regular

    Fallinangel

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #2
    Try MacFuse with NTFS-3G!! And make sure that your drive really is formatted as NTFS.
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    Did you notice that the OP is using Tuxera?
    Did you format it on Windows, or with the Mac?
     
  4. azizj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #4
    Yes, I am using Tuxera and it still does not detect it.

    I have been using it on my windows PC for a quite some time now and it's still working fine on it, I formatted on Windows and I confirmed that it's format it NTFS.
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    The only thing I can suggest at the moment is to try uninstalling Tuxera completely, then try Paragon.

    The most effective method for complete app removal is manual deletion:
     
  6. azizj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #6
    Removed Tuxera using your method, restarted and tried Paragon, same result, it's not getting detected not in Paragon nor in Disk Utility.
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    I'd look to the connection cables and ports as a possible source. Try other cables or other ports, or both.
     
  8. azizj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #8
    I tried out the ports and they are working fine (plugged in an iPhone and it was detected on iTunes and I tried syncing it) It could be from the cable but I highly doubt because I just tried plugging the drive on windows again and it works perfectly. But I'll give it a shot.
     
  9. azizj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #9
    Okay this is funny, the hard disk's cable works with another hard disk from the same brand but not the one I want to use, but when I try another cable with the one I want to use it works fine, I switched up the cables and it's working fine now. What a weird problem, thank you all for your help!
     

Share This Page