External Hard Drive named one thing - but path (mount point) is another??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by m021478, Feb 25, 2008.

  1. m021478 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #1
    Does any one have any idea why, an external hard drive I've named "Archived Data", seems to be recognized by a number of different programs/utilities as "Archived Data 1" instead??

    I checked Disk Utility, and clicking on the Volume name (which does show up in Disk Utility as "Archived Data") reveals that the 'Mount Point' for this Volume is: /Volumes/Archived Data 1 ?

    I tried renaming this drive to something else completely, and sure enough, the Mount Point and the Finder name then become the same thing, but renaming it in the Finder back to "Archived Data" causes the Mount Point name to once again become "Archived Data 1"

    This issue is wreaking havoc on synchronization tasks I've configured, breaking alias references I've setup, etc, etc...

    Any suggestions as to how I can go about resolving this so that the Mount Point name and the visible Finder name are the same (as they should be, and as they used to b) would be greatly appreciated... Thanks!
     
  2. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
  3. m021478 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #3
    Yes...on my Mac, I use Transmission.

    When I run Parallels Desktop from my Mac, I use uTorrent

    Why do you ask?
     
  4. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #4
    I suppose other apps could cause this problem, but the last time I saw this problem it was caused by Azureus.

    See this post.
     
  5. m021478 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #5
    I figured out what the issue was...I checked the /Volumes directory using the Finder's 'Go' menu command, and there somehow was a folder (not an alias) in their entitled Archived Data, and this was preventing the actual Archived Data volume from mounting appropriately...
     

Share This Page