External hard drive on airport extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Z8beema, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. Z8beema macrumors 6502

    Z8beema

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Mass.
    #1
    hi,
    Can you attach an external hard drive to an airport extreme and use it as a time capsule? I have a Mac mini, a WD 500 GB hard drive and a 4th generation airport extreme. Possible?
     
  2. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #2
    If you mean for Time Machine backups, then no. At least not officially.
    The only Extreme that is supported for it is the 6th generation 802.11ac.
     
  3. Z8beema thread starter macrumors 6502

    Z8beema

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Mass.
    #3
    Yes for time machine backup ups.. Is there an unofficial way to do it?
     
  4. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #4
    - Don't know. But I would advise against using non-supported methods for critical backups.
     
  5. mic j, Aug 20, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2016

    mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #5
    Yes, plug in the drive, go into TM preferences, click on select drive and navigate to your volume. It's really very simple. Had mine set up that way for maybe 10 years. Make sure your NAS has been formatted correctly (I think it's MAC OS Extended (Journaled))

    In reference to the above post by JTToft, I have never relied on TM as my only backup, and I don't recommend you do either. I also make backup images of my drives monthly. However, I have never had a problem accessing my unofficially supported backup. I use TM mostly as a document recovery system or need to go back to a somewhat earlier configuration for my Mac. I there were a serious issue (and thank God this has not yet happened), I would use the disk images to re-create my Mac system. It is faster and easier to do it that way.
     
  6. JTToft, Aug 20, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2016

    JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #6
    - I believe he's talking about a USB hard drive plugged into the USB port of the AirPort Extreme, not a separate NAS.
     
  7. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #7
    NAS=networked attached storage. A HDD plugged in to an AEBS qualifies as an NAS. A simple one, but still an NAS. At least that is my understanding.
     
  8. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #8
    - That is correct. Just wanted to make sure we were on the same page.
     
  9. Z8beema thread starter macrumors 6502

    Z8beema

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Mass.
    #9
    Correct
    --- Post Merged, Aug 20, 2016 ---
    so i plugged it in...went into time machine and the drive did not show up
     
  10. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #10
    I think this should help: http://www.macworld.com/article/1132613/airporttime.html

    Basically have to reformat the drive using Disk Utility while attached to Mac. Then plug into AEBS. Map to drive using Finder and finally choose in TM. Sorry, as I said, I did this years ago and had forgotten the sequence I used.
     
  11. satcomer, Aug 21, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2016

    satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #11
    What's the format of the drive? The last time I looked it should be HFS+ format connected to the AirPort Extreme to see it!
     
  12. mic j, Aug 21, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2016

    mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #12
    It is HFS+ (Which is the Mac OS Extended, Journaled I mentioned above). Make sure your format HFS+ is journaled. If your formatting was ok, did you go to Finder and mount the drive?

    Edit: I found this video which is very thorough in how to set up a USB-AEBS connect HDD as a Time Capsule. Keep in mind that the video is a couple years old and therefore may not match up exactly to your current OS X version, but it should be very close. Had to go to old source as newer ones all assume you have the "ac" version of the AEBS and that one is much easier to setup as a TC.

     

Share This Page