External hard drive question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mr. Eko, Feb 13, 2008.

1. Mr. Eko macrumors member

Before posting I would like to say that I am a complete noob with external hard Drives. I do not know anything about them. Sorry for my ignorance.

I was wanting to put all of my music/videos/pics on one to transfer to future ipods/mac. I was wondering if I get one, can I put files on it from a PC and then put them on a mac? How do they work?

2. mr.stinki macrumors 6502

Yes...

Yes, you actually can. What i like to do is partition my HDD into 2 separate sections. 1 named general use, and 1 for time machine. The one for general use is about 3GB, and the one for Time machine is about 110GB, and the one for general use can be viewed in windows or mac, the one for time machine can only be viewed on a mac.

Really easy using disk utility.

--EDIT--

Yeah, i kinda forgot to add that :p sorry.

3. jeff3221 macrumors regular

He left out that for the general use for macs and pcs, you have to format to MS- DOS (FAT 32) and for time machine MAC OS EXTENDED (journal) using disk utility.

4. kwfl macrumors 6502

if you want to view the mac extended jurnal drive on windows, install a software called macdrive in windows and it will show it for your.

5. mr.stinki macrumors 6502

Well, yeah, but I usually just use my drive for school and my back-ups, if someone in school finds it, and plug it in, they aren't going to want to use it if it only has 3GB, plus, i doubt many people would know how to "see" the other partition.

6. Mr. Eko thread starter macrumors member

Thanks, I'm just looking for something to hold roughly 95 gb of music and movies. I want to have it available for future usage. Any recommendations on a brand?

EDIT: I found this one on Amazon for $93.00, would this be a good one?

Western Digital 160GB 2.5-inch Passport USB Portable Hard Drive

7. Mr. Eko thread starter macrumors member