external hard drive w/ photos

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by rweakins, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. rweakins macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #1
    is there anyway to hook up an external hard drive to a camera while you are shooting and have the pictures sent to the hard drive as opposed to a compact flash card?
     
  2. anubis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    #2
    I don't think so. But there are memory cards with built-in wireless transmitters that can directly send the photos to a nearby laptop for storage on the laptop. They're actually not that expensive either
     
  3. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #3
    got a link for that?
     
  4. sparsk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #4
    There's Eye-Fi but they only seem to be for SD cards.

    http://www.eye.fi/

    If you are going to lug a laptop around with you, there is software that will let you save the pictures to your laptop's hard drive and even control the camera.
     
  5. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #5
    Yes, they call it "tethered shooing". Connect your camera with USB to your Mac, bring up Image Capture and click the "take a picture button"

    There is better software that you can get from Nikon or Canon that allows more control.
     
  6. anubis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    #6
    I read either directly on the Eye-Fi web site, or somewhere else, that you can buy a very inexpensive SD to CF adapter and that works just as well
     
  7. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #7
    I am familiar with tethered shooting i was just curious to see if there was a way to rig my western digital external hd to my camera. it's not that big and it's so much more memory.
     
  8. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #8
    We can't help you if you don't tell us which camera you have.

    Canon makes an add-on grip (WFT-E3A) that will do this.
     
  9. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #9
    no need to get smart. canon 50d.
     
  10. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #10
    LMAO ... get smart? You want a specialized solution for a specific camera, but you didn't tell us which camera! There's no need to get your panties in a knot.

    Look at the Canon grip I mentioned before. It's not cheap, but it does exactly what you want to do.
     
  11. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #11
    still not exactly what my question was. the answer to my question is no. you can't hook the external straight to the camera. the transmitter is something i already knew about but it's price isn't exactly in budget.
     
  12. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #12
    *sigh* Now you're just being a pain.

    From Canon's press release on the WFT-E3A:
    The 50D has since been shown to be compatible with this grip.
     
  13. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #13
    i realize that but for what i do i may not be able to carry my laptop or have it close enough for the transmitter to be able to send the files
     
  14. OreoCookie macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Location:
    Sendai, Japan
    #14
    You don't need a laptop. The grip connects directly to the harddrive and saves the images onto it.
     
  15. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #15
    [​IMG]

    Re-read the part that I bolded. Seriously.
     
  16. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #16
    so still a little unclear as far as the wireless part goes. i know can connect the hd straight to the transmitter but to send them to the computer do you have to have an internet connection or just be in range of your computer
     

Share This Page