External Hard Drive won't mount to any computer or mac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by thedirtyduo, Oct 7, 2013.

  1. thedirtyduo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #1
    Hi, I have a external hard drive 'Seagate from OWC' that won't mount to my Mac or my laptop. It asks me to "initialize" it, but it was already formatted as Journaled. I have the latest updates from Apple on my Mac Pro.

    The Mac laptop is 10.6.8
    My Mac Pro is 10.8.5

    I'm using a Next Star Hard Drive Dock that is powered.

    I tried unplugging everything and introducing one drive at a time as well as reboot. Other drives do connect.

    Is there a software update needed from Seagate, reboot in Safe Mode or could the drive failed?

    Thanks
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
    Did you try to erase it and format it using Disk Utility? BTW, what type of connection dies your drive use?

    Lou
     
  3. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #3
    Are you saying that drives work in that Dock except for the seagate?

    Not mounting in two different computers and two OSs, I'd suspect the drive or enclosure/dock controller failed.... or cable.
     
  4. thedirtyduo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #4
    connected by Firewire 800, tried 3 different docks, new cable etc.

    I don't want to reformat it since I have a project on it that I started.
     
  5. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    Most likely a drive failure. There are data recovery tools you can try.
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    Does it show up in Disk Utility? and if it does, is the mount button active? Also, if it does show up in Disk Utility, have you tried to repair the disk? Then there's also Disk Warrior and Tech Tool Pro. If not, you'll need to reformat.

    Lou
     
  7. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    This situation happened to me before, I used DiskWarrior to rebuild the directory and the HD can mount again. Though the thread starter's case might be different, sometimes DiskWarrior was able to fix HDs that the Disk Utility was not able to.
     

Share This Page