External Harddrive wont show

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by toober1, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. toober1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    You cannot use windows format for TimeMachine.

    Perhaps you should call Lacie for support.
     
  3. toober1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #3
    ok, how do i get it to read the drive, adn then re-format it? call lacie...?
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    go into disk utilitys and format it hfs+(journaled)
     
  5. toober1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #5
    disk utility wont even read it or pick it up, thats where im stuck...
     
  6. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #6
    i dont know if this work but you could try putting your install disk in go into
    disk utilitys from there if it shows up format it hfs+(journaled)
     
  7. toober1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #7
    ok ill give it a shot, well, now tha ti think of it, I have no idea where the disk is, you think an apple store helper would take a look at this or help me out?

    mac genious...if i go as a walk in...
     
  8. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #8
    Try it as you wont know without giving it ago or try ringing them

    but not sure about a 3rd party peripherals maybe someone else will know this
     
  9. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #9
    You need appointment for Genius Bar.

    You need to test it on another computer first.

    Apple typically don't support third party peripherals, but they MIGHT take a look at it briefly, at least connect to another computer and try to format it there.
     
  10. toober1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #10
    I have tried it on a PC as well nothing.

    Ill try to go by there today then...thanks

    -a
     

Share This Page