External HD for Mac and PC?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Elvishammer, May 31, 2009.

1. Elvishammer macrumors newbie

I've been using a Lacie external HD to back up and share files from both my Macbook Pro and my work PC for about 4 years. Mostly music , pictures and word documents. I never had any problems doing this.

The Lacie crashed so I decided to get a 500g Seagate Freeagent drive. I formatted it for the PC and now it's only Read Only on the MAC. I've been reading forums and there are lots of suggestions on how to format into NTFS(?) etc. but most say it can't be done on the Seagate.

Is there a brand out there that will work on both without any formatting? If not, is there a way to EASILY format one? Should I buy another Lacie?

I am not too technical, so simplicity would be very appreciated.

Thanks,
    Elvis

2. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

i.shaun

It shouldn't matter who makes the HDD, but in some cases it might.

I say this because I have a 300GB Maxtor One Touch external HDD, and it has software for OS X that is used for automatic backups/syncing. That program corrupted my iTunes library, so I stopped using it, and thinking it was of no use to me -- I deleted it.

The maxtor would randomly dismount, causing the iMac to reboot suddenly. It was quite annoying and possibly harmful to it (as I currently have an internal HDD issue).

The fix for this was to re-install that program. I never run it/use it, but I keep it on the mac. I guess it has drivers for the maxtor that it requires.

Other then that, if the external requires no software, it's the Disk format that is the issue.

Here is a basic list of OS' and their ability to read/write.

Windows: Supports Read/Write to FAT32 & NTFS // Cannot Read/write to HFS+(mac format)

OS X: Supports Read/Write to FAT32 & HFS/HFS+ (mac format) // Read-only support for NTFS