External HD help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by WillJS, Jul 18, 2007.

  1. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #1
    I can only read my new backup HD, and I thin I need to format it. I'm just going to use it for storing files (later on) and making a bootable backup using CCC. What do I need to format it as, and how do I do that?
     
  2. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #2
    To format to into Disk Utility (/Applications/Utilities). Choose your HD on the left, choose your format (I reccommend HFS+ Journaled :))
     
  3. WillJS thread starter macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #3
    Do I look under: [​IMG]

    And under Erase my format options are: [​IMG]

    And which one do I pick? : [​IMG]
     
  4. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #4
    No, you want erase, and the other 2 options are correct :)
     
  5. WillJS thread starter macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #5
    OK, it worked. Thanks.

    1 other question: I used CCC (carbon copy cloner) to make a bootable backup of my HD, can I also store files on the HD or should I just leave it alone with the bootable backup on it. And if needed, how do I boot from it?
     
  6. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #6
    I would leave it how it is, but you can store files on it if you wish so. To boot from it restart and press option, and select the volume to boot from :)
     
  7. WillJS thread starter macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #7
    So storing files on it wouldn't be ideal? (besides the backup)
     
  8. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #8
    Unless you parition it so that one parition is for the backup (remember to set it to GUID partition table if its an Intel Mac, or Apple Partition Map if its PPC) and another is for storing files; yes it can be done but its not ideal (I would partition it).
     
  9. WillJS thread starter macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #9
    Would this work? (both of them Mac OS Extended (journaled))
     
  10. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #10
    If you want to boot from the 'Mac Backup' partition, no. You need to click options and choose GUID partition table (assuming your Mac is a MacBook, as you HD is called 'MacBook').
     
  11. WillJS thread starter macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #11
    So everythig is fine except that option?
     

Share This Page