External HD Permissions over network

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by weekendwarrior, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. weekendwarrior macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #1
    Hey everyone..I have a Mac Pro with an external HD connected...mac journaled format. Via my wireless network, I'm trying to put files on that drive from another computer. I can read from it, but can't place any files on it. I get that mac error that says you cannot copy files due to insufficient privileges or something like that.

    I have checked the "get info" box and made sure that everyone can read/write
    I'm logging into the desktop from my macbook pro with the same username, which has administrator privileges.

    Any ideas where I could be missing a write privilege somewhere?

    Thanks!

    Paul
     
  2. wesg macrumors regular

    wesg

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #2
    Since you specifically mention the permissions with read and write, I would suggest going back into the Get Info window on the external drive and select "Ignore permissions on this volume".
     
  3. weekendwarrior thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #3
    Yep..tried that too..no luck...I can write on it from the host machine, just not from any other machine on the network...
     
  4. Wikinerd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #4
    Are you using FTP or AFP? Mac OS X cannot write using FTP
     
  5. weekendwarrior thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #5
    I'm assuming AFP...just networked between systems. I can do it the other way, meaning I can write to my laptop from my desktop, just can't write from my laptop to my desktop.
     
  6. PXPrado macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #6
    ok first off is the external network HD a NAS device?
     
  7. weekendwarrior thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #7
    Nope..it's a USB drive that is plugged into the desktop. Not a network drive if thats what you are referring to.
     
  8. Wikinerd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #8
    You can try samba... but I doubt it will work if AFP doesn't.
    And yes, normally if you connect to another mac you connect to it thru AFP
     

Share This Page