External HD shows up as multiple devices

Discussion in 'macOS' started by tscoke, Nov 10, 2017.

  1. tscoke, Nov 10, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2017

    tscoke macrumors newbie

    tscoke

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    #1
    I have a 1TB external Toshiba HD that I want to reformat into a clean, single partition. This drive was previously used with the now defunct Transporter Sync.

    When I connect the drive to my Macbook Air running High Sierra it shows up as four separate volumes. I cant' figure out how to remove all that to have a single, empty 1TB drive.The partition option isn't available for any of the four.

    In from diskutil list command:
    /dev/disk2 (external, physical):
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: FDisk_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk2
    1: Apple_HFS 1 1000.0 MB disk2s1
    2: Apple_HFS 2 999.3 MB disk2s2
    3: Apple_HFS 3 2.0 GB disk2s3
    4: Apple_HFS 4 996.2 GB disk2s4
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    Things I'd try:

    - take it to a Windows PC, erase it to one of the PC format schemes, then bring it back to the Mac and try again.
    - use a version of the Mac OS -earlier than- High Sierra (which seems fraught with problems).
    - download "Parted Magic", burn a boot CD, boot from the Parted Magic CD, and try to initialize the drive that way.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Click at the top left of Disk Utility and select show all devices to see the hardware device itself instead of just the volumes. Now go to the erase tab and select the drive at the top of the tree (asmedia in my case) then erase to whatever format you want. That will make one volume filling the whole drive.

    Screen Shot 2017-11-10 at 8.33.34 AM.png
     
  4. tscoke thread starter macrumors newbie

    tscoke

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017

Share This Page

3 November 10, 2017