External HD won't mount; fsck_hfs running

Discussion in 'macOS' started by swindmill, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. swindmill macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #1
    I had to restart my computer after iTunes froze and would not force quit. When I restarted, only the Time Machine volume from my WD external USB drive mounted. I opened Disk Utility and tried to mount the other volume, which holds my iTunes library and it said to try and repair the disk. I clicked 'verify disk' and it started verifying the Time Machine volume. I stopped the process because I thought there might be a way to only verify the volume that wasn't mounting. At this point, the Time Machine volume would not remount. I tried restarting again, and still, neither volume will mount. The disk is spinning up fine. In Activity Monitor I can see that the fsck_hfs process is running at a pretty high cpu usage. Any ideas?


    EDIT:
    I unplugged the disk again and the Time Machine volume mounted when I plugged it in. Still no luck with the other volume.

    I ran First Aid and it said 'Invalid content in Journal'. It said the volume was repaired successfully, but it still won't mount.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Maybe let it cool off (unplug it and remove the power for an hour or so) and then try repairing it again. Hopefully the drive isn't failing. :)
     
  3. Loudwater macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    I'm having a problem with my WD external HD as well. I got the Time Machine working by erasing the disk as it was required. But after it became the "Time Machine Backup" drive, my windows cannot recognize the hard drive. It still shows in USB that it was connected to the PC, but I cannot find it on My Computer. Anyone has any idea of this???
     
  4. swindmill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #4
    I tried letting it sit for a while with no luck. I realized that I had DiskWarrior from a previous HD failure so I ran that and it worked excellent. It rebuilt my directory and replaced it, and it seems as though everything is back to normal with not a single missing file as far as I can tell. That is an amazing program. I guess I had some sort of corruption on the drive.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    Good work. Just be wary that the drive may not be very reliable form now on though. :)
     

Share This Page