External HDD jumper settings?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by The Monkey, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. The Monkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    Here's my plan. I ordered two new Seagate PATA drives: a 500GB for storage and a 750GB for backup. These external drives are in addition to my iMac's internal 250GB drive. The external HDDs will be cased in OWC cases w/ firewire. Here are my questions:

    1) Should the external 500GB HDD (extra storage) be set to Master, Slave, or Cable Select?

    2) Should I daisy chain the external 750GB (backup) to the 500GB external HDD, or should it go into the other FW port on the iMac?

    3) What jumper setting should I set for the 750GB (backup) external HDD? Master, Slave, Cable Select?

    Thanks in advance for answering what are probably very basic questions.
     
  2. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #2

    If your Daisy-Chaining drives then each drive will show as it's own drive on the desktop..
     
  3. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #3
    If you look at the documentation for the enclosure it will say but i i would suspect master or Cable select.
    If possible connect to separate ports. It will get better speed this way.
    See number 1 They run independently.
     
  4. maestrokev macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Are the enclosures FW400 or FW800? I daisy-chain 4 FW800 external hard drives and they work fine.
     
  5. The Monkey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    #5
    Thanks, it says either Master or Cable Select. Does it matter which?

    It's FW400.
     
  6. maestrokev macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    My iMac only has 1 FW400 and 1 FW800 port so I'm stuck daisy-chaining if I want all to run at FW800.
     
  7. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #7
    Yeah they we will BUT you won't be able to access all 4 drives at full speed at the same time. As you will max out the firewire 800 interface.
    No it doesn't matter which. And just plug them each into there own ports then.
     
  8. The Monkey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    #8
    Thanks everyone. Got the 500GB up and running, will save the 750GB for tomorrow.

    Can I now use the second FW ports on the OWC enclosures to connect other devices like cameras, ipods, etc.?
     
  9. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #9


    daisy-chaining any FW device is a go.. e.g. camcorder etc..





    edit: the ipod has have the FW chip to work thru daisy-chain process..
     
  10. seniorstinky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #10
    Yes. Keep in mind, especially if you are doing video editing, that you may experience unacceptable performance hits with your daisy chain.
     
  11. The Monkey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    #11
    Thanks again. Another question: the OWC enclosures have a power switch. What do most of you do about powering down the external HDD. Do you leave it on? Turn it off?
     
  12. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #12


    I leave mine on . since one of them is my boot drive ..
     
  13. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #13
    I switch mine off along with my Mac.
     
  14. maestrokev macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    So how can I access all 4 drives at full speed at the same time if my new iMac only has 1 FW400 and 1 FW800 port?
     
  15. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #15
    You won't be able to get full performance out of all of them, but to get the best performance i would put one drive on the 400 two drives on the 800 and maybe one on USB if it has a USB port.
     

Share This Page