External HDD on MBP question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Bmoney017, Jul 9, 2007.

  1. Bmoney017 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #1
    So i've had my MBP for a little over a month (I got it the day they updated it on June 5th) and it is my first mac. I haven't had many problems, but when I plug in my external HDD, thats where the problems start. It is NTFS formatted and I thought that I would never get a mac so no need to do a FAT32 format. So when I plug in the drive, it shows up on the desktop. When I go to open it, no files show up; it is completely blank. It shows how much space is available at the bottom, but no folders show up. I dont need to write anything on the disk, I just need to be able to pull up the files. Can someone please give me some guidance of what to do. Thanks for the help.
     
  2. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #2
    your mac should be able to read your ntfs formatted drive, you could try to install windows (sorry for suggesting a solution involving window$) and see if it reads you drive.
     
  3. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #3
    The latest version of Tiger (well before that, but whatever) does have NTFS read support, but not write. I can't explain why exactly your drive does not appear to have any files on it in Finder with the information given, but Mac OS X is definitely recognizing the partition as an NTFS-formatted volume if it is appearing on your desktop as a mounted drive.

    The only possible solution I can think of is to go ahead and try a different NTFS solution. Take a look at Google's MacFUSE (here: http://code.google.com/p/macfuse/) and follow this simple Lifehacker how-to (here: http://tinyurl.com/2ygz38), maybe that'll work out for you. I've used MacFUSE for other applications (not NTFS R/W so far), but it seems to be a popular solution for getting full access to NTFS drives and I haven't noticed reports of any major problems with its implementation. Good luck!
     
  4. Bmoney017 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #4
    thanks for the help. Ill give that a try Sbrocket.

    haha sorry but I really dont want to use windows again deadpixels. Only after a month of use, its amazing how different windows feels.

    I think what I am going to do is go to the apple store and ask them what the deal is.
     
  5. Bmoney017 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #5
    One question about macfuse, Do I need to have bootcamp?
     
  6. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #6
    MacFUSE is not related to Boot Camp in any way.
     
  7. Bmoney017 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #7
    ok so i am really trying hard to do this all on my own, but its not working. So I used the site you gave me, and i downloaded macfuse and NTFS-3G, however I must not be doing something right because after I do what I think is the installation, and when I restart my computer, NTFS-3G says that it cant install because macfuse isnt installed. What am i doing wrong?
     
  8. Bmoney017 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #8
    ok i finally got it to work. I had to change the macfuse file name so "core" was not in it anymore
     

Share This Page