External HDD recommendation

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by fxstb2002, Apr 6, 2010.

1. fxstb2002 macrumors member

I am a real estate agent, and I make video tours of all of the properties that we sell. I want to be able to convert the video into iMovie while I am driving from one property to the next, using my MBP. Then when I get back to the office, I will use the iMac to do any edits. Therefore, I want an external HDD to make the transfer easier.

Now for the recommendation, can I use a firewire portable HDD that doesn't need an external power adapter, or should I go ahead an get one with the power adapter? I am thinking I will go with a 500GB 7500RPM drive.

Any help is appreciated.

2. jampat macrumors 6502a

How big are these movies? USB key seems like the cheapest, easiest and most durable solution here (or transfer over the network, even faster and cheaper).

If you really want a harddrive, I'd go for a 2.5" drive that does not require external power (personally I like firewire, but USB also works). That way you can use it in the car if you want without a mess of wires and power adaptors. Faster drives really help with random file access of small files. If you are just dumping large movies on and then erasing at the office, I doubt you will see much difference between 5400 and 7200 rpm (unless you are editing on the drive).

3. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

Artful Dodger

If you can, get a FireWire unit like this one…http://store.apple.com/us/product/TX116VC/A?fnode=MTY1NDA0Nw&mco=MTM0NTA4ODc
    It doesn't require a separate power supply and it will run off FW800. Not sure on the specs but the case is really tuff. I have the 3.5 version (with power supply) where this is for a 2.5 drive and like I said no power supply needed.
    Good luck and hope all works out :)

4. fxstb2002 thread starter macrumors member