External HDD

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by jmfel1926, Aug 26, 2012.

1. jmfel1926 macrumors member

i have a Westrern Digital external HDD and i want to backup my MBA files there (as it asks whenever you plug in a HDD) and be able to read and write on both windows and ML . please don't paste any links , just tell me the steps . i am new to mac os ..thx

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Windows can't natively read/write HFS+ formatted drives, which you need for backups of Mac OS X to an external drive. Mac OS X can't natively write to NTFS files, which Windows reads. Sorry, but you've got to deal with some links, if you want the information you need. Pay special attention to the bold text.

Format A Hard Drive Using Disk Utility (which is in your /Applications/Utilities folder)

Choose the appropriate format:

HFS+ (Hierarchical File System, a.k.a. Mac OS Extended (Journaled) Don't use case-sensitive)

NTFS (Windows NT File System)
    • Read/Write NTFS from native Windows.
    • Read only NTFS from native Mac OS X
      [*]To Read/Write/Format NTFS from Mac OS X, here are some alternatives:
      • For Mac OS X 10.4 or later (32 or 64-bit), install Paragon ($19.95) (Best Choice for Lion and Mountain Lion)
      • For Mac OS X 10.5 and later, including Lion, FUSE for OS X
      • For 32-bit Mac OS X, install NTFS-3G for Mac OS X (free) (does not work in 64-bit mode)
      • For 64-bit Snow Leopard, read this: MacFUSE for 64-bit Snow Leopard
      • Some have reported problems using Tuxera (approx $36), which is an enhanced version of NTFS-3G with faster performance.
      • Native NTFS support can be enabled in Snow Leopard and later versions, but is not advisable, due to instability.
    • AirPort Extreme (802.11n) and Time Capsule do not support NTFS
    • Maximum file size: 16 TB
    • Maximum volume size: 256TB
    • You can use this format if you routinely share a drive with multiple Windows systems.

exFAT (FAT64)