'External iPod Controls' is handy.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by felt., Oct 5, 2010.

  1. felt. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    this cool little hack lets you use the volume buttons to skip next or previous tracks, and if your worried about how you can still adjust the volume fear not. you just hold the button and it will change the volume and there is a slider to set how long you hold it before the volume control is engaged. I like putting all my songs on shuffle and just clicking away till something great comes on :)
     
  2. iFanaddic macrumors 6502a

    iFanaddic

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #2
    Forget I ever posted a reply lol, t'was stupid
     
  3. F123D macrumors 68040

    F123D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Del Mar, CA
    #3
    Do the volume buttons work while the screen is off?
     
  4. Bandolier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #4
    I like ipodtouchmaster's work, but EyeDev's VolumeButtonExtender was perfect. You would hold the volume button for change next or prev and normal presses for volume change. Unfortunately, he won't answer any of my emails about updating his tweak for iOS4.

    But I have found another way around: Activator does exactly this.
     
  5. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    Why pay 99 cents for something you can get for free with Activator?

    In fact, the Activator method is better because the volume buttons act like volume buttons unless you press and hold them for 1 second or longer. Then they will skip forward or back one track. The buttons even work when the screen is off. I use "Short Hold" of the Home button in the Lock Screen and Home Screen to Play/Pause the iPod.

    Fast, elegant, easy, and free!

    S-
     
  6. F123D macrumors 68040

    F123D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Del Mar, CA
    #6
    Thanks, totally forgot about Activator for this function.
     

Share This Page