External Mic & MBP??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by thebrain74, Jul 6, 2007.

  1. thebrain74 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #1
    I am trying to get an external mic to work with my MBP but it just isnt working.
    It is just a little gooseneck mec from the XtremeMac Micro memo. I shaved off a little plastic to make sure it is being fully inserted into the jack but it doesnt pick up anything. I have gone to sys prefs to enable it but no dice. Any suggestions??
     
  2. RichL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Not really sure of any advice to give ya but is there a problem with the internal mic? Just curious because I'm getting a MBP in a week (Hopefully).
     
  3. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    Have you selected the Input as Line In as opposed to the built-in mic?

    [​IMG]
     
  4. LMO macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #4
    There is no mic input, so if selecting Line In as suggested above doesn't get it working, you will need to plug the mic into a preamp.

    The M-Audio Transit USB has a line/mic input that accepts mic levels as well as providing plug-in power (5v phantom power).
     
  5. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #5
    Or you could buy a USB microphone - they range from $30-60.

    Depends on what quality of sound you are after.
     
  6. anti-microsoft macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    #6
    There is no problem at all. You might think of buying a better quality external mic for professional stuff, like: radio broadcasting, music...(you can get away with podcasts the mic is quite impressive for speech).
     
  7. thebrain74 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #7
    Ya I did that sys prefs thing and no dice, so I just that means it just won't work without a preamp then, right?

    thanks for the help

    P.S. if I got a USB mic how would I utilize it, as it wouldn't show up as a line-in device, would it?
     
  8. Arkanok macrumors 6502a

    Arkanok

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    #8
    Actually i have a followup question to this. If i want to record a movie in iMovie with the iSight cam thats built in, can i plug in my usb mic and use that for the sound input rather than the internal one by going into the sound settings? (Sorry, i'm at work so i cant try it right now)
     
  9. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #9
    Yes it will - it will be classified as an audio input device and you can select that in Sys Prefs.
     
  10. aliquis- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #10
    If you change recording device in system preferences to the USB mic I'm very confident that whatever program trying to record sound will use that one instead of the built in one.

    There is also the "iMic" or something, I have no idea how good it is. To bad there are no real microphone input aswell. Thought I've always had issues with those on regular PCs aswell so maybe just getting a preamp will give better sound and so on anyway. (Or is it just that mics sucks in general because I guess the soundcard will do the amping anyway?)

    If one really have to pay 99 dollar for that m-audio micstuff why not pay a little more and get a "real" soundcard from them? =P, like the audiophile firewire or something?
     
  11. cleanup macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    This is a major problem I have with Macs... while random stereo headsets (the crappy kind people buy for voice chatting, etc.) with the headphone and mic plugs work fine on PCs, the mic never works on Macs. You always need either a USB audio adapter or other some sort of interface. Why is this? Some people don't require sound quality that high. They just want to talk to their cousin in Ireland on Skype. But their Mac forces them to buy either a higher quality mic or an interface. Dumb.
     

Share This Page