External mic not working with GL2

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by upsguy27, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. upsguy27 macrumors 65816

    upsguy27

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    I have a boom and an external mic (Rode NTG-1), and I'm using them with a Canon GL2. Since the GL2 doesn't have an XLR connector, I bought an XLR to 1/4" converter cable, and from there a 1/4" to 3.5mm converter (Mono to mono). When I hook it all up, no audio is picked up. Why is this happening?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    XLR to 3.5mm should work better.
    [​IMG]
    from http://www.adorama.com/CVXLRPMP6ST.html


    It may be that the GL2 expects a stereo signal and can't handle a 3.5mm mono jack. Also have you made sure, that the input on the camera (via menu) is set correctly? Have a look at the manual, that mostly solves some problems, even with a GL2 (I worked once with this camera, it was horrible in comparison with Sony's or Panasonic's equivalent offerings).
     
  3. upsguy27 thread starter macrumors 65816

    upsguy27

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    I wish I could get that, but as I'm shooting tomorrow there's no time.

    I don't know if that's it... I have a shotgun mic for it and it's only a mono mic, and it works fine. And I didn't have the menu set to anything with the shotgun mic, but I looked around in the menu and didn't see anything about a mic.
     
  4. mwchris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    So are you saying you hook up the shotgun mic in the same manner as the other mic you are trying to get to work? (Same cables and same input???)

    The shotgun mic might need to be powered, most are. Have you tested the new mic on another device to make sure it works? Perhaps there is not enough power to support it?

    On page 5 of the manual it states it requires phantom power, and according to this site the GL2 does not support phantom power without an add on module. SO, you can either buy an inline phantom power module, or use a mixer like I describe below.


    When I've used a GL2 we always took audio out of a mixer. That is all XLR connections into mixer then Stereo RCA OUT to Stereo RCA IN on the GL2. (For your situation make sure the mixer has phantom power.)



    Oh, and I refuse to buy a camera without XLR inputs. :)
     
  5. 321estrellas macrumors 6502

    321estrellas

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #5
    Perhaps sell the NTG1 and find an NTG2, as that is pretty much the exact same mic but can also be battery powered. It can also be phantom powered should you upgrade your camera in the future too.
     

Share This Page