External Monitor Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by atthecross, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. atthecross macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #1
    Is there a way to run an external monitor with the lid closed on the macbook?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Yes. Attach a USB keyboard or mouse and hit a key, or mouse button to wake up the laptop. It will only be using the external screen.
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Yes, it's known as clamshell mode. Are you having problems, or is this just a curiosity question?
     
  4. atthecross thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #4
    didn't try hitting a key, just noticed that when I closed the lid it turned off the monitor. Will have to try it when I get back to work
     
  5. atthecross thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
  6. Sounds Good macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #6
    Does it damage the MBP to use it with the lid closed for extended periods of time?
     
  7. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Nope it's perfectly safe. I used to do it all the time.
     
  8. Sounds Good macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #8
    Thanks. I was concerned about heat (or whatever).
     
  9. jnc macrumors 68020

    jnc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Nunya, Business TX
    #9
    If it did, I doubt they'd list it as a feature, do you? :rolleyes:

    "Hey guys... try this out... but not too much, you could like, mess stuff up". lol :D
     
  10. Sounds Good macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #10
    Ahhhhh.... never takes more than two posts on a Mac board to get a sarcastic reply to an innocent question. :rolleyes:
     
  11. jnc macrumors 68020

    jnc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Nunya, Business TX
    #11
    That's some thin skin you got there. It was rhetorical rather than sarcastic
     
  12. sr5878 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #12
    on this topic, is there any way to use the osx brightness controls on my keyboard on my external (non ACD) display?
     
  13. jnc macrumors 68020

    jnc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Nunya, Business TX
    #13
    The brightness settings are managed by the monitor rather than through the Mac, there's no connection between the keyboard and an external display
     
  14. sr5878 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #14
    oh... i thought the brightness controls were through OSX.
     
  15. ClassicMac247 macrumors 6502

    ClassicMac247

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Brick, NJ
    #15
    I do this too, "Close lid, wake from sleep." its a nice easy method, always wondered if it had any after effects, guess not, thanks for bringin this up!:D:apple:
     
  16. jnc macrumors 68020

    jnc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Nunya, Business TX
    #16
    Only on the Mac itself. On an external display, there's simply no way for the Mac to "tell" the display how bright to be, that's why Cinema Displays need their own brightness adjustment buttons, and external displays have their own built-in menus
     

Share This Page