External Monitor to play Brood War

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Motliest Crue, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. Motliest Crue macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Location:
    New England
    #1
    Hello,

    I recently purchased Brood War (running on 2010 Macbook pro 13'', no bootcamp) and it runs fine.

    I hooked up my external monitor and held options while Brood War booted up so I could choose what monitor to use. When I do this and pick my external monitor both my MBP and monitor go blank and I can't get my MBP to work without a hard shutdown. I know it's sometthing to do with my external monitor.

    Am I missing a setting?

    MBP 13'' 2.4ghz base model 2010
    External monitor - Viewsonic va1703wb

    Thanks!
     
  2. jakeguy99 macrumors regular

    jakeguy99

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #2
    I have played and still do play with an external monitor no problem. Im not sure which monitor you are using and what its resolution is set at but try turning it down a bit before you launch the game. maybe set it to 1024x768, do a few tests and see which resolution works best I run mine at 1400x900.
     
  3. Motliest Crue thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    I am going to try turning down the resolution when I get out of work. That was the only idea I had as well. Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. Motliest Crue thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Okay turning down the resolution helped, thanks. Next question - when I try to play with my MAcbook in clamshell mode my monitor loses its signal and my MBP stays on with a blank screen. I can hear the music but can't bring the MBP or monitor back without doing a hard shut down. Any ideas??

    Thanks!
     
  5. Haoshiro macrumors 68000

    Haoshiro

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA, KS
    #5
    You should close your system first, wake it, then launch the game.
     
  6. jakeguy99 macrumors regular

    jakeguy99

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #6
    I believe I have had the same problem, however I cant remember exactly how I fixed that issue. All I can think of now at the moment is to try clicking the auto configure button on your monitor.
     
  7. Motliest Crue thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    I set my system to never go to sleep (just to try it for Brood War) and still as soon as my MBP closes I lose the monitor. I also set up Brood War in clamshell mode (with my external monitor being used as primary) and still as soon as I brought up Brood War I lost connection to the monitor and also couldn't wake up my MBP, or get out of brood war without a hard shut down.
     

Share This Page