External Monitor + USB Keyboard?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tarek, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. Tarek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #1
    Hi there,

    So I have been thinking about connecting my MacBook Pro to an external monitor so I could use it as a desktop computer at home and then plug it out and use it as a notebook when I want to. I finally decided to today! It was very exciting when I noticed that the small white monitor adapter that came with the MacBook Pro actually works when you plug the DVI cable in it and the other end in the monitor. At first, I couldn't use the computer when I shut the lid but then I did some research and found that it will wake up again if I interact with any USB device connected to my MBP (like keyboard or mouse) and that worked.

    Okay so the problem is, the USB keyboard is NOT recognized. I have a wireless Microsoft mouse which works fine. But when I plug in my keyboard (My keyboard is a PS/2 one so I use the PS/2 to USB converter in order to connect it to my MBP, this exact same converter) it just doesn't work. I have tried two different PS/2 keyboards and no luck. When I plug it in, the three lights on the keyboard (num lock, scroll lock, caps lock) turn on and then off (that's normal) but then when I press keys nothing happens.

    I opened System Preferences > Keyboard and there is "Change Keyboard Type" which detects external keyboards and calibrates in order for me to use them normally (I think that's what it does). When I plug the keyboard out, the "Change Keyboard Type" option disappears and then reappears when I plug it back in. I clicked it then NEXT and then pressed the Z button (it said press the button next to the left SHIFT button) but it just doesn't detect it. I don't know what's wrong. Do I need a keyboard that is originally a USB one and not a PS/2 one that uses PS/2 to USB converter?

    I need some advice here as using an external monitor will help me a lot. I am thinking of buying another monitor and using a dual monitor as one screen, wouldn't that be great?

    Thanks a lot and I am sorry that this is too long, just skip to the "Problem is..." section, lol.

    Tarek.
     
  2. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I would try getting a USB keyboard from somewhere, borrow one before buying to see if that is the problem?
     
  3. Tarek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #3
    I guess I'll go ahead and buy one tomorrow because my family and friends use PS/2 keyboards for desktop computers and just the notebook's keyboard (nothing external) lol. It's stupid, though, PS/2 to USB adapters should work fine on Apple computers. I also forgot to mention that it works fine when I am using Windows 7 (Boot Camp) but it doesn't work on Macintosh, so I don't know what's the deal with that.

    I am just afraid of using the MBP as a desktop computer while running Windows because it already gets hot when I am using Windows, so imagine using Windows with a CLOSED lid. I think it'd literally melt in less than two hours. Or would it not?
     
  4. NSK123 macrumors regular

    NSK123

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #4
    it's designed to be able to run in clamshell mode with a closed lid or else apple wouldn't have allowed it if the machine was going to melt. No problems there.. I run with the lid closed for hours and the the heat is the same.
     
  5. omgitscro macrumors 6502a

    omgitscro

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #5
    I'm not entirely sure how you're planning on connecting more than one external display to the MacBook Pro. There are ways to accomplish this, but they either don't come cheap, or only work with VGA.
     
  6. Tarek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #6
    I've been running it with the lid open and on Windows 7. Running Macintosh with the external keyboard not even working too much of a hassle for me. The temperature is the same, no problems so far.

    omgitscro, I am sure there is a work around. Like a VGA cable with two connectors on one end and only one on the other. Plus, some one willing to run dual-LCD monitors won't care whether it'll come cheap or not, because that's something pretty awesome if you ask me. I might be forced to buy a $45 - $50 adapter for that (not too sure, though) but it's worth it.
     

Share This Page