External Monitor use Macbook memory?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by musiqzuki, Jan 27, 2009.

  1. musiqzuki macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #1
    I was wondering when you hook up a Macbook to an external Monitor, does it use up RAM and stuff on the Macbook.
     
  2. m0no macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
  3. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #3
    Hooking up an external monitor just gives you an extra screen.
    You are still using the same RAM and hard drive in the MacBook.

    Now let's say you have an iMac. You could hook up the MacBook via FireWire and boot up the MacBook while holding down the "T" key and use it as an external hard drive on the iMac.
     
  4. musiqzuki thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #4
    so it does use up a bit of memory and stuff on the Macbook with an extra screen. i see. thanks
     
  5. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #5
    -musiqzuki

    Just what is needed by any additional real estate the added screen requires.
     
  6. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    My understanding of this is that the VRAM (not RAM) would be split between the 2 displays.
     
  7. new-chivalry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #7
    I was just trying to run an external monitor I have (an older flat screen for the G3) with my Macbook for music editing stuff, and I can't get it to work. The AC power is routed through the external monitor, the light comes on but stays yellow as if in sleep mode. Then the shut down menu pops up on the Macbook. Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  8. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #8
    -new-chivalry

    Sounds like something is triggering the switch. Check to see if it is damaged or something lodged in it.
     
  9. musiqzuki thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
  10. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    Go into System Profiler; you can find it under "Graphics/Displays".
     
  11. musiqzuki thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #11
    How can I check how much VRAM my external monitor uses then? thanks
     
  12. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #12
    I don't know if you can do so. Does it matter? If using an external monitor slows things down unduly, unplug it. You're the one calling the shots, not the numbers.

    I've never experienced a noticeable slowdown from running a second monitor.
     
  13. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #13
    Clamshell mode?

    Will the Macbook run in Clamshell mode with and external Keyboard & mouse attached?

    I've used my PowerBooks that way alot.
     
  14. musiqzuki thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #14
    Yes it can, I'm running on clamshell mode with external keyboard and mouse
     

Share This Page