external monitor

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by headviking, Sep 2, 2008.

1. headviking macrumors member

I have a macbook and would like to use a larger screen (LCD). How does the DVI-D hookup work? Where on my mac does the connection fit? Is is next to the firewire connection?

Headviking

2. andrewag macrumors 6502

You need to buy a mini DVI to DVI adapter from Apple. The mini DVI port is in-between the FW and ethernet ports.

3. headviking thread starter macrumors member

Thanks for the info. I am new to the mac seen. I have been a big (the other) fan for years. But this year my son went off to collage and needed a laptop. My co-worker convinced me intop a macbook for my son, because no installation issues - plug and play - nor viruses - no calling dad to help fix a problem. Well the first couple of months my son had trouble using it because mywife and I were on it most of the time. Now that he has left home our computing has dropped down. I'me getting a Macbook Pro in a couple of weeks. The external monitor is for my son, to make his work a litle easier to view.

Thanks again

4. jmb667 macrumors regular

jmb667

For what it's worth I run my Macbook through a 22" LCD when I'm at home. I use the Apple mini-DVI to DVI adapter ($19) to a DVI cable which in turn runs into my monitor. 1680x1050 resolution, and the Macbook handles it just fine, no problems at all. I'm also using an Apple wireless keyboard and Mighty Mouse, since I'm basically simulating a desktop but I have the portability if I need/want it (and I often do).

Here's a picture of my setup, for what it's worth:
    [​IMG]

5. wxaddict macrumors newbie

Hello,

jmb667, how can you get a 1680x1050 resolution? I think the maximum resolution (native) is 1280x800 pixels...

All I need is the Mini DVI to DVI adapter?

Thanks

6. ManInAShed macrumors newbie

All you need is the adapter (and the cable, but you'll probably get that with your monitor).