External Monitor

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by brandon2886, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. brandon2886 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #1
    So i have an external monitor i've been using it since i got my new macbook pro in January and its it works fine. When I'm using the monitor i want to make it my main monitor with the menu bar at the top and what not, and keep the macbook's screen as a secondary display for video playback while I'm editing. Is this possible with a program or a setting on the mac.

    Thanks
    Brandon
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    System Preferences -> Displays -> Arrangement

    Follow the directions :)

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    yes its very possible, everything is supported by mac os natively.

    when the monitor is plugged in and detected go to system prefs ->display -> then hit the monitors setup (i dont have my external monitor connected so i dont really remember :p).

    here you can reposition the monitor and move the menu bar to a different monitor. click on the white menu bar and simply drag it to the other monitor.
     
  4. brandon2886 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #4
    that way to easy, yet hard at the same time. no clue you could drag the menu bar at the top. Thanks
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    thats how OSX works, easy for beginners - yet its quite complex once you start learing how to use it :) gotta love it.
     
  6. brandon2886 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #6
    they make things really easy, but not very obvious sometimes. I searched for this for a while before i posted here and nothing came up that specific.
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    i guess it would be hard if you've never used it and have no idea what your doing. ive grown up on it since Finder 4 so its all i know.. there should be a website for "advanced things for beginners" or something.
     
  8. brandon2886 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #8
    Yea, i knew about the arrangement section, just moving the menu bar but oh well its done now.
     

Share This Page