External NTFS harddrive not compatible

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by olek, Jul 17, 2015.

  1. olek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    #1
    Hello. I have a problem with connecting an external 1tb ntfs harddrive to my macbook air. When i connect it says its not compatible, and i cant access the harddrive at all. It shows up in disk utility, but i dont have access to the harddrive. I have files on the harddrive so i don´t want to format it. I´ve tried programs such as tuxera and paragon without success.
     
  2. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #2
    Do you know if the drive is still good? Is it one of those drives that either need a power supply or dual USB connection? Does it work on another computer? Can you install Windows on your Mac and access it that way?
     
  3. olek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    #3
    yes, the drive works on my windows computer. It only needs to be connected to USB, no power supply. I dont really want to install windows on my mac only to access my external harddrive.
     
  4. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #4
  5. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
  6. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    My thoughts...

    If the drive won't connect to the MacBook "as it is now", you have two choices:
    - Accept that, or
    - Configure the drive so that it WILL connect (as in, "reinitialize")

    If you don't want to reinitialize it, and you have files on it that you want to move to the Mac, take it back to the PC, and copy the files to another drive (hard drive, USB flashdrive, etc.) that is "known to be working" with both computers.

    Much easier to do that, than it is to fight with the situation...
     
  7. olek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    #7
    Thanks for the replies, but i figured it out. I forgot i had encrypted the drive with bitlocker, i removed it and now it works perfectly
     

Share This Page