External Power for AMD HD 6970?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jimmyducati, Sep 23, 2015.

  1. jimmyducati macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    #1
    I tried searching and didn't find much (and I am not super computer savvy...). I bought a Radeon HD6970 to install into my 3,1 Mac Pro and have a question about the power supply. I know I at least need an adaptor cable to power the GPU if Im using the mini pci connecter from the motherboard, but my new card has an 8 pin and 6 receptacles... After further reading I found that if you have a card with a 6&8 pin receptacle, you really should use an external power supply.

    Where do I get an external power supply and if I use one, is it the only thing that plugs into the 6/8 pin receptacles?
     
  2. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #2
    Power supply will be your least problem, OS X drivers for this card are broken.
     
  3. jimmyducati thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    #3
    so this card is worthless to me?
     
  4. jimmyducati thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    #4
    Is there a current (updated in the last year or so with cards that "plug and play") list of cards that will work in a 3,1?
     
  5. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #5
    Do a search at Netkas about this card. I gave up a few years ago but it used to require some driver fix.

    For the most part, I recommend that you read reports from other users before buying a card to find one that works.

    A reference 7950 is a pretty good bet, or a 2GB GTX680.
     
  6. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #6
    From what I've read over at tonymacx86 the bugs are changing with OS X versions, but I've never seen anyone saying this card was working flawless, so I'd go for something else.

    Your choice depends on what you expect: Bootscreens? 3D performance? CUDA/OpenCL?
     
  7. jimmyducati thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    #7
    I want something that I can play world of tanks on with a 27" HD monitor... I don't CUDA or OpenCL anything, don't even know what that means. I just know the grass isn't lifelike enough on the two games I play to satisfy me.
     
  8. jimmyducati thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    #8
    So what kind of problems are occurring with this card? Im tempted to throw it in and see if I can break some stuff.
     
  9. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #9
    Reports range from system crashes, black/white screens or graphic glitches. Throw it in and try yourself ;)

    If you don't need bootscreens (=> screen will stay black until OS X loads), any Kepler-based Nvidia card should be fine for you. HD 7xxx cards require removal of some kext files for full performance in a 3,1, Maxwell Nvidia cards need additional drivers (both has to be repeated after each OS update), so Kepler cards are most painless.
     
  10. jimmyducati thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    #10
    No clue what you're talking about bro... Kepler... Maxwell... English?
     
  11. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #11
  12. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #12
    Happy with my Gigabyte HD 7970 3GB OC. New card, pre-flashed and resistor modified by an ebay vendor and fully functional. I was too lazy to monkey around for several hours.

    Running at 5.0GT/s with 16 lanes. All ports work on OS X.

    Nice and quiet and nice frame rates, while not loading the PSU. Uses the latest Catalyst drivers on BootCamp without mucking around.
     
  13. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #13
    But you do need Lion (patched driver) or better (no patches.) Snow Leopard runs, but the display glitches.
     
  14. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #14
    As I said, any HD 7xxx's will run like crap in a MP3,1 without modifications to the system, so I'd stay away...
     

Share This Page