External Render Boxes...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by philliplakis, May 25, 2015.

  1. philliplakis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Location:
    AUS
    #1
    So I've been working on these for quite some time...

    Lots of up ands downs in trying to get these to work....
    Especially with Apple knocking off the ability to run more than 2 external Nvidia GPU's in 10.10. Over at CreativeCOW people with Cubix & Netstor expansion chassis are limited to 2 Nvidia in total and only with running an ATI as your display.

    I initially was going to use a Splitter for the box so you could connect 1 pcie slot feed the 3, but here was when the problems came... I could only get 3 cards total recognised but they all had to have a MAC EFI.. Otherwise only 1 internal GPU and one External was showing up... and that was coinciding with the reports at CreativeCOW.

    The reason i created these was the fact i was in desperate need for render power and a neat solution.. I hate cables and mess all over the desk.. and i don't have the money to spend on a Nestor and Cubix etc..

    I don't consider these replacement to such units but as gpGPU is progressing and i hate PC's i think this is a viable solution for anyone.

    If anyone is interested in them let me know...


    .......................

    They allow for 3 external cards and a standard ATX psu.
    You can run 1, 2 or cards simultaneously.
    2 Standard 120mm Fans for airflow.

    They are RenderBoxes not expansion chassis you will require an available pcie slot for every card you want to run externally.

    Tell me what you guys think????
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Synchro3, May 25, 2015
    Last edited: May 25, 2015

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #2
    Really nice case, good work! :)

    Could you show a pic of the internals?

    Did something similar, but only for one eGPU via Thunderbolt, and not that pretty, with one standard 120mm fan for airflow:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. philliplakis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Location:
    AUS
    #3
    Will post a photo soon once i open it up again,

    Il be trying to get it to work as eGPU again once my new rMBP arrives tomo as i sold off my mini to get the new rMBP...
    (ref: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1842150&highlight=egpu)
     
  4. DJenkins macrumors 6502

    DJenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    Hi Phillip looks great! Forgive my ignorance but what's the interface between the box & the mac pro? Given you have said each card must connect to a dedicated PCIe slot in the mac pro, are there like 3 individual PCIe riser extensions or a single breakout cable?

    How did it run under 10.9? Were your cards recognised easier than 10.10?
    If so, what's your reason for running 10.10?

    Sorry for all the questions! As you can see I got into the hackintosh game for a similar reason - integration of more powerful hardware.
     
  5. philliplakis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Location:
    AUS
    #5
    Yes 3 individual risers, the difference is you can run 4 double wide cards and power them neatly...

    Ran the same in 10.8 & 10.9 ! I run 10.10

    I was thinking of going the hackintosh route but can't deal with constant issues as I need to be able to have my system up and running 100% of the time...
     
  6. Gwendolini macrumors 6502

    Gwendolini

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    random
    #6
    As to the Mackintosh route, constant issue are a thing of the past, and if you use a daily clone procedure, you could always boot into the one day old clone if issues arise.
    My Yosemite Hacks run quite fine, though the Maxwell GPUs still make a bit of a hassle with those web drivers. Kepler GPUs are much better in that regard.

    And those PCIe risers are cables you connect to the PCIe slots on your Mac Pro and the route to the external box?
     
  7. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    I was under the impression that the GPU limit came with either 10.9 or 10.10. Something to do with Barr mappings, IIRC.
     
  8. philliplakis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Location:
    AUS
    #8
    Thats what i had seen on various blogs. When i tested 10.8.2 with this setup i was getting the same as 10.9.5 with only 1 more card working than 10.10
     
  9. philliplakis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Location:
    AUS
    #9
    Yep. 1 Card in the double wide slot and then 2,3 & 4 with the risers. Not the best solution but i get to render with 4 cards now and at $250 for the box it is rather well spent compared to others
     
  10. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #10
    I like it.

    Been doing some GPU accelerated password auditing and experienced the same things (exorbitant price of 'specialist' hardware, cable clutter, etc.)

    Do you have a link to the risers you're using, and how much are you asking per box?

    Thanks
     
  11. philliplakis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Location:
    AUS
    #11
    The cables are just your standard USB 1x to 16x risers
    http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=321352684565

    $250us plus shipping that's with everything minus PSU and cards...
     

Share This Page