External Storage Nightmare

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by lc25, Jul 31, 2009.

1. lc25 macrumors 6502

Hi All,

Quick ramble to inform you of my issues then the questions if that's OK ?

I currently work in IT but due to ill health i am leaving the profession, i have all ways been a mac user but work with windows for my job.

I currently have a custom built windows machine with 5tb of storage (mainly consists of tv,films,pictures and lots of music which i use as my main machine and then my macbook which i use around the house and a lot now as i just don't feel like using my windows machine.

The grand plan is to sell of my windows rig (keeping the 5 1tb drives as they are reasonably new) buy a macbook pro 17" and run with that and my current macbook. The 17" being mainly based upstairs as a replacement for the windows machine and used the most (this maybe reversed).

The issues

Something to hold 4 or 5 of the 1tb drives with my data. Nas or just USB/firewire to replace the internal storage i have now.

Some form of itunes server for music sharing across both macbooks ? (currently dont have this but is it worth it ?)

I have been looking around for a long time and this only things that have jumped out at me are

Drobo V2 ( with drobo share ?)

QNAP TS-209 Pro II Turbo NAS

1 Tb Lacie Usb/Firewire ( Maybe 2 of)

Or any suggestions you have ? as i am at a loss really to what would be the best set up for my needs and keep my data secure.

Any more info you may need please ask

Many thanks for your time

2. Chris Rogers macrumors 6502a

Chris Rogers

+ 1 for Drobo minus the Drobo Share (read it's really slow)

Connect via USB to Airport Extreme Base Station and you're good to go w/ network storage.