External storage option for new iMac user?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by kkop123, Dec 7, 2015.

1. kkop123 macrumors newbie

Hello,

I recently purchased a new iMac 27" and went with the 256 GB SSD internal storage based on some research I did. My question is, what is my best option for an external drive for additional storage? I would like to use it for backup and for normal storage of less frequently used files.

I'm not a tech expert by any means so I'm looking for an easy option that won't cost and arm and a leg.

Thanks in advance for any thelp.

2. v.i.p.e.r macrumors newbie

USB 3.0 with UASP support and a hdd/ssd which you prefer ... Thats it

3. twilexia, Dec 7, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2015

twilexia macrumors 6502

If storage matters more to you than speed, get this - many users on this forum love it, and I think it's the best single-drive backup storage option (4TB)
    Seagate Backup Plus Fast http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Portable-External-Storage-STDA4000100/dp/B00HXAV0X6

The reason why it's fast is because they combine two 2TB HDD's in a RAID 0 configuration (which means you can effectively think of this as 1 drive), which halves the load on each drive and doubling the transfer rate. The risk is that if one drive fails, the entire unit is donezo. Assuming a 2.5% failure rate on one Seagate, you're looking at about a 4.938% total failure rate for the two drives.

If you want fast transfer rates, go for the Samsung T1 SSD, imo the best single-device USB-powered SSD on the market right now.

4. kkop123 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the replies. If I don't care are portability, would I be better off going with a Samsung internal SSD with an enclosure?

5. twilexia macrumors 6502

Yep - if you're going that route, a Samsung Evo inside of a USB enclosure like this one http://www.amazon.com/Optimized-Ina...e=UTF8&qid=1449525532&sr=8-2&keywords=inateck is going to give you the same speeds as the Samsung SSD T1.