External storage solution?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by donjao, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. donjao macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #1
    o/

    I've just returned my WD My Passport Studio 320 GB (WD3200MT) as it was freezing my mac. Well, according to applestore user reviews - it's a common issue. But now, I do not want to use any of those WDs anymore.

    Can you advise a good external storage solution? I don't really care about the size and form factor. I need a drive that works and works fast. FW800 is must. eSATA II is a huge plus.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. donjao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #3
    Yeah, OWC is cool but quite problematic for EU residents. Although, I made business with them couple of times. This is gonna be my 4th attempt to find a working drive, I had enough of headache already, that is why I'm not considering OWC.

    But thanks for a tip!
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Ahh, I understand. Well, I have 3 LaCies and haven't had any issues so I can gladly recommend them. Another option is that you buy an enclosure and build your own.
     
  5. circularforward macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    #5
    I have LaCie and can recommend them too.
     
  6. mangrove macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #6
    I have been looking at one of those orange LaCies (maybe 500GB-so I never need another one) for my MBA.

    Guess they work just fine. That's good to know. My Apple store even sells them now, but when I'm ready I'll probably get it on the internet.
     
  7. donjao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #7
    Thanks guys.

    I hear more and more good feedback for LaCie. I'll definitely look into them.

    As Hellhammer suggested, getting an enclosure was my 2nd concern.

    But thanks for the drive suggestion. I've checked reviews on applestore and they are also quite positive. So, I guess next brand is LaCie *fingers crossed*.

    So, thanks everyone! Have a pleasant time!
     
  8. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    I have the Rugged one as well 500gb and it works prefectly even though I am using Itunes and aperture of it
     
  9. Mac7 macrumors 6502a

    Mac7

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
  10. mangrove macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #10
    I see they sell a 7200 rpm 500GB model now. Is yours the 7200?
     
  11. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
  12. Unrealtechno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #12
    original drobo (not the S but the one that has FW800)

    it's pricey but you get what you pay for
     
  13. donjao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #13
    Btw, are LaCie 3.5" external drives disassemblable? As I might wanna keep the enclosure and replace the drive unit later.
     
  14. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #14
    They are. Some are easier to disassemble than other but they can all be taken apart
     
  15. donjao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #15
    Thanks man! I got hooked! :p
     
  16. donjao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #16
    I don't quite understand. Looking at this drive: http://www.lacie.com/uk/products/product.htm?pid=11471

    But it says that the "burst" write speed is only 40 MB/s. How can that be if it has eSATA and 1 GBit LAN ports? eSATA suppose to allow you to write at 100+ MB/s! Am I missing something?

    And, it does not say, If I can attach that drive to router directly and then access it wirelessly.
     
  17. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #17
    It's NAS meaning that it would be used wirelessly, thus the slow speed. If you use eSATA, then you should be able to achieve greater speeds. See the manuals for instructions how to set it up
     
  18. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #18
    Yes it's 7200 and it works great
     
  19. mangrove macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #19
    Thanks that's what I'm getting then. With FW800 it should transfer data fast.
     
  20. donjao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #20
    Ok, another question. What speeds will I achieve, If I plug this drive directly to a PC/Laptop's 1 GB Ethernet controller? Will I get the same low speeds as stated in specification doc, or direct wiring will speed up to proper 1 GB/s speed?
     
  21. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #21
    You should be able to achieve greater speeds if you use a proper cable. However, I would call LaCie and check these things. They can help you a lot more than we can
     
  22. RedReplicant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #22
    You're not going to get full 1000mbit (120MB/s) speed out of any NAS you buy on a budget. You also can't directly connect it the way you think you can.
     
  23. donjao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #23
    Ok. Thanks for info. Understood!

    Hellhammer, yeah, got my question answered by now. Thanks for help anyway!
     
  24. donjao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #24
    Ok, got ultra fast response from LaCie guys, and they told me that none of eSATA or Ethernet socket can used to plug in the drive directly to a computer. LAN is for NAS, and eSATA is to connect other LaCie drives to create arrays.

    Doh!

    But, now I know that I'm not going for this one!
     
  25. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #25
    Good that you called them. LaCie Quadra is good, I have two 1TBs. It's expensive but nice design plus great outputs
     

Share This Page