External Studio Drive Necessary With Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Erich Yeung, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. Erich Yeung macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    #1
    Hey guys, so I'm about to buy an 8 core mac pro with one 640 gig hard drive. My question is basically about whether or not I should buy some external drives to use as studio drives, or if I should buy some extra internal hard drives for the computer instead? I'm trying to avoid the dreaded CPU overload message, and I have had to deal with it on my MBP for some time now, so I want to make sure I can do everything to optimize my new MP for Logic. Thanks guys!
     
  2. avemestr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #2
    Step 1. Throw in a SSD.

    Step 2. Add internal HDDs as needed.

    Step 3. There's no step 3.
     
  3. TomTomTuning macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Central PA
    #3
    I would recommend putting an SSD in slot 1 and then get three large capacity (1TB-3TB) 3.5" drives for the reaming slots.

    You don't necessarily need a SSD but the speed increase of a Solid State Drive is wonderful for the OS/Apps.

    You can also get a PCIe eSata card and add some sort of external enclosure as well. This is what I'll be doing since I need a ton of space.
     
  4. Erich Yeung thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    #4
    Alright thanks guys! So I should ideally aim for a system drive, samples drive, and project folder drive? Also Any suggestions for cheap, quality, drives?
     
  5. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #5
    Put the SSD in the optical bay.
     
  6. TomTomTuning macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Central PA
    #6
    Yea, that too. :)
     

Share This Page