External Thunderbolt with 4 bays needed

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by TwoBytes, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. TwoBytes macrumors 68020

    TwoBytes

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #1
    Is there anything out there for a good price? I need more than 8TB.
    Tossing up if i should use a USB 3.0 instead which are really cheap
     
  2. Chris5488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #2
    Promise Pegasus R4

    Link to Apple store: http://store.apple.com/us/product/H5184VC/A/promise-pegasus-r4-4tb-4x1tb-raid-system

    You can buy an empty one and fill it yourself with the drives you need.
    It's the only Thunderbolt device I could find. Others are USB3.0.

    However, it's a lot cheaper to buy a NAS and connect it to your gigabit-network using ethernet-cables while your computer is also connected to your network using ethernet-cables. It'll be blazing fast too.
     
  3. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    LaCie 4kbig quadra. I use LaCie 2big 6tb thunderbolt running as 3tb raid 1 mirrored.
     
  4. TwoBytes thread starter macrumors 68020

    TwoBytes

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #4
    MC, that's USB 2.0 and I need more than 8tb.

    Chris, thanks for checking but the Pegasus looks expensive. It's a shame g raid don't do a 4 bay TB/USB 3 unit.

    Didn't want a NAS on the network at all. Hoping for a DAS. Maybe a drobo
     
  5. chambord macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    #5
    Have a look at Datoptic.

    http://www.datoptic.com/data-storage/thunderbolt-raid-jbod-subsystem.html

    Their stuff actually gets really good reviews, and it's all hardware. Very nice. And extremely well priced.
     
  6. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6

    LaCie 4big Quadra USB 3.0
    4-Bay RAID | USB 3.0 | FireWire 800
    Built for Pros. Performance and Security for All.
    USB 3.0 Speed: Up to 245MB/s
    Multi-interface for PC/Mac compatibility
    RAID 5 and hot-swap for speed with security
    Aluminum enclosure and quiet operation
    Capacity : 8TB or 12TB


    http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?id=10601
     
  7. jmcgeejr macrumors 6502

    jmcgeejr

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    Not to sound like a dick but did anyone read the part about GOOD PRICE, so far the only recommendations I have seen are around $800USD and more. I must be in the wrong tax bracket if that's what you guys consider a good price :)
     
  8. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #8
    TB/eSATA/USB3 for $800 is a steal...

    Not to counter-dick, but you do realize you still need to fill whatever bay you get with decent hard drives right? Those are going to cost you three times that. You really shouldn't be using standard drives in a RAID5. WD RE drives or Hitachi Ultrastars is what you are looking at.
     
  9. chambord macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    #9
    I agree that it sounds very expensive, but I Agree with Jester. $800 for TB/USB3/eSATA with a built in RAID controller is awesome. When it comes to big data storage, you do have to pay to play. I've been looking into this for over a year, and have gone back and forth with buying a pre-built solution versus building a NAS, and for me I really want a DAS like this, and I want something rock solid. I'm also paranoid, so when I build mine I'm going to have to double up. So I'm looking at

    $850 enclosure
    5 x $200 (at least) HD's
    Total = $1850

    Then double that, for double storage = $3700. Ouch. But that would give redundant 15 - 20 Tb storage.
     
  10. g4cube macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #10
    Define good price, and more people may be able to help guide you to a solution.

    Check out ebay for used large capacity drives, and then ask yourself why such a large drive is being offered at a lower price than a new drive.

    there are deals to be had for 1TB, 2TB, and 3TB bare drives, but 4TB drives are still a premium. Have seen new 3TB for $140 and 4TB for $280.

    Time to move into that higher tax bracket to get what you want.
     
  11. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    Agree... you really should have enterprise drives for RAID. They have better command queueing depth and other features that can prevent issues.

    My Pegasus R4 comes with four 2TB Hitachi Ultrastars. They also warn against using non-enterprise drives... and have a published drive compatibility list.

    /Jim
     
  12. Joseph Farrugia, Jan 6, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 6, 2013

    Joseph Farrugia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Location:
    Malta (EU)
    #12
    To the thread starter:

    As has already been pointed out "enterprise drives" are recommended.
    If you can live with cycling/rotating individual drives, the Seagate GoFlex Desk Thunderbolt adapter is great & has a secondary TB pass through.
    It also works great with 3.5" & 2.5" bare drives (not necessarily enterprise grade) as well as SSDs, which you can cycle/rotate on a regular basis, using CCC/SuperDuper as well as TM.

    Hope this helps,
    JF
     
  13. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #13
    Or WD Red.
     
  14. chambord macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    #14
  15. Tanax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #15
    Wow, with user-servicable disks! Too bad it can't be ordered "empty". Otherwise I'd probably jump on that one! Stylish, elegant, seems very good and easy to upgrade!

    A shame it doesn't have RAID 5 but RAID 1 is pretty good too, although you lose more storage.
     
  16. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #16
    Not if you're looking for performance. those RED drives like like server grade Green drives. Variable spindle speed rotation isn't something you want in a high performance RAID.
     
  17. chambord macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    #17
    How would RAID1 work with 5 drives though?
     
  18. Tanax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #18
    On the product page they list the different RAID configurations, you can view them on the link that was posted in this thread!
     
  19. chambord macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    #19
    Ahhh. Thank you, I went to the product page and viewed the configs. That makes sense, I hadn't considered using multiple smaller configs. I think I'd still opt for the Datoptic thunderbolt RAID015 unit posted earlier in this thread.

    **** man, the lack of USB3 just kills me on my macs. To get comparable speeds it's such a big upgrade to go to thunderbolt that it just adds hundreds and hudnreds to the price. That datoptic unit is $200 more expensive in thunderbolt, so if I got two of them, it's $400 extra. For that I may as well upgrade my Mac mini server to a new unit w/ USB3 and sell the old one. I'd probably come out ahead that way.
     
  20. TwoBytes thread starter macrumors 68020

    TwoBytes

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
  21. jmcgeejr macrumors 6502

    jmcgeejr

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #21
    If you could buy it empty for $500 I would drop the cash on it.
     
  22. g4cube macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #22
    Not really much of a premium. Sell the drives you don't want on ebay, then stuff with you own drives.

    Or wait for the typical reseller discounts when it ships in volume.

    Compare to the price of an empty j4 or drobo.
     
  23. TigerClaw27 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    #23
    What is the price for an empty j4? I haven't been able to find it anywhere.
     
  24. qamaro macrumors member

    qamaro

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #24
  25. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #25
    Where can an empty Pegasus R4 be purchased?

    I have a Drobo full of drives I would like to transfer to a R4.
     

Share This Page