Extra Antenna in my Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Guess, Jun 19, 2008.

  1. Guess macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    #1
    So I was replacing the hard drive on my 3 day old Macbook Pro to a 500gb Samsung when I noticed that there was a spare wrapped antenna inside my macbook pro.

    I have a black one that is connected to the primary on my wifi card, a blue one that is connected to the aux, and then a gray one that currently has heat wrapping on it to prevent it from shorting anything.

    Anyone know what this is for?

    My understanding is that the old macbook pro's had 3 connections on the airport extreme, mine only has two, anyone know why?
     
  2. Dmac77 macrumors 68020

    Dmac77

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    I really have no idea, but my best guess is that it is for the bluetooth.

    Don

    P.S.

    Sorry that I can't be of much more help.
     
  3. tip macrumors 6502

    tip

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #3
    I believe the current Airport Extreme has three antennae connections.
     
  4. Xipper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #4
    I know I'm off topic, but how is the performance on the 500gb Samsung? I am seriously tempted to order one. It appears it should be far better than the Fujitsu MHW2160BH that is in it now.

    thx!
     
  5. microq macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #5
    This is correct

    Hey there, that is correct. It all depends on what type of Airport Extreme card is in your machine - Apple used two types based on two different chipsets, one Atheros (3 antennae) and also a Broadcom based card (2 antennae).

    As someone here incorrectly comments - this extra antenna is not for bluetooth, there is a seperate bluetooth antenna elsewhere in the machine.

    Hope that explains why you have an extra antenna.

    Dave
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    It depends on what network card your computer had; if it has the Broadcom card (which has better reception and signal strength) it uses 2 antenna; if you have an Atheros card it uses 3 antenna.
     

Share This Page