Extra memory definitely speeds things up.

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by SmilesLots, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. SmilesLots macrumors regular

    SmilesLots

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    #1
    The extra memory just came for my new Mac Min i, and I can definitely say that it speeded things up. When I posted earlier about being disappointed. that was with 2 gb stock memory. I put in a total of 4 gb today. Turns out, now get this, if I had ordered the mini with 4 gb to start, it would only have cost $100 more from Apple. Getting it from OWC cost $120.00. Apple would have been cheaper on memory! Go figure. Anyway, 4 gb seems to be the sweet spot for general use like for me.
     
  2. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #3

    Of the face of it it's cheaper, but Apple keep the 2gb and give you 4gb. From a 3rd party you get to keep the 2gb but pay for 4gb. It would've been nicer if Apple had stuck a single 2gb module in there. Upgrade would be even cheaper then!
     
  3. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
    #4
    OWC is much cheaper if you want 8 GB of RAM though. At least $200 cheaper.
     
  4. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #5
    i just got the new mac mini and want to add memory too...i know how to add more memory now but which brand or type of memory i should buy? i dunno i'm a noob..:eek:
     
  5. mangrove macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #7
  6. vroom96 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    #8
    I got a 4gb chip for $100 from superwiz. Running 5gb on my mini now.

    Try shopping around. The 4gb chips are getting cheaper. For future upgrades, I think it's better to get one 4gb chip rather than use up both slots with two 2gb chips.
     
  7. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #9
    you might get slightly better performance by using a paired (2x2gb) set of ram since the integrated graphics (320m) is dual-channel. probably won't make much of a difference though for most tasks.
     

Share This Page