Extra RAM or not - that is the question..

Discussion in 'iMac' started by RichardI, Dec 24, 2013.

  1. RichardI macrumors 6502a

    RichardI

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    #1
    So I'm going to be ordering a new iMac after new years and I've pretty much decided on configuration, except I'm not sure if the jump from 16GB RAM (I've decided on that as a minimum) to 32 GB is worth the money? What, exactly does more RAM do in a Mac? I am not a professional at all but I hate waiting...:)
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    How are you planning on using the computer. Most people now a days don't even need 16GB of ram, never mind 32gb.

    What tasks are you executing that requires high amounts of ram?
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    In general, the idea is that applications and data would be loaded into system RAM and accessed from there rather than a slower storage drive. But that said, as maflynn mentioned, unless you are using a real memory intensive application (something like large file edits in Photoshop perhaps), there is a real point of diminishing returns even after 8GB. Give this test a read.
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    I find it easy to use up 32GB of RAM with VMware running and FCP X + Photoshop CC running in tandem.
     
  5. joe-h2o macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    #5
    16 GB is more than adequate for the vast, vast majority of users. I have 16 in mine and in the past year I've never had any page outs (that includes during VM use).

    32 GB is serious overkill unless you have pretty specific needs, and if you do then you tend to already know about it.
     
  6. Alfinator macrumors newbie

    Alfinator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Location:
    Linköping - Sweden
    #6
    Well RAM memory isn't that expensive so you could go with 16 GB and then if you feel any urge to have 36 GB (not cause i think you will) then just buy another 16 GB. It's as simple as that actually.
     
  7. RichardI thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RichardI

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    #7
    LOL I'm more than good @ 16GB RAM

    Thanks a lot folks. Appreciate the responses. I sure don't need 32 GB RAM.

    @Weaselboy: that test answered all my questions. Thanks for the link.

    Rich :cool:
     

Share This Page