Extreme battery drain on AT&T iPhone 4!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Prodo123, Mar 16, 2011.

1. Prodo123, Mar 16, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2011

Prodo123 macrumors 68020

Prodo123

I have an iPhone 4, and after replacing it 3 times due to defects at an Apple Store, I ended up getting my preordered iPhone 4, ordered in June, practically in October...
    Anyway, so this iPhone 4 has a 5-month old battery now. Until 4 weeks ago, I could last a whole 8-hour day on moderate to heavy use, with plenty to go (30-40% or so). Now, with almost no usage, an 8-hour day drains my battery to 21%!

Before, I had a lot of apps running, such as a calendar app (Not the iOS one), iOS clock, etc. and it got 23 hours on idle, 6 hours of use, and 40% by the end of the 8 hours.
    Now, I have no apps running in the background, and it gets 12 hours on idle, 4 hours of use, and 21% by the end.
    I thought AT&T's $h!++y signal was causing the problem, so I turned Airplane Mode on and Wi-Fi on (This is possible). Voila, extra 30% added to my battery! With moderate to no usage, Airplane Mode gets me 18 hours on idle, 5 hours of use, and 38% by the end of the 8 hours.

I mean, yes this area has little to no coverage, so the iPhone chugs battery to boost signal, but still a 30-40% drop is very significant. Because of this signal problem, I complained to AT&T and they changed some settings on my iPhone, too.

WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON WITH THE BATTERY?

UPDATE: I have new results, I went on AT&T 3G and surfed the web for 5 minutes. Apparently, the side gets really hot, due to the iPhone's attempt to improve signal. The battery went down 6% in 5 minutes...

2. tsfisher macrumors newbie

I have exact same issue!

I've had my iphone 4 for several months -- worked great, battery lasted long even when I'd have apps going, wifi, push etc.