Extreme Hot Temperature / Loud Fans

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PatientWaiter, Jan 17, 2014.

1. PatientWaiter macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

I've been playing some Dota 2 on a 3 week old Macbook Pro 15" Retina (16GB RAM / 750M Video) and I'm new to running games on a computer... the fan sounds really loud and the keyboard feels hot to the touch. Like, "I'm going to burn my finger if I leave it here" kinda hot.

I installed iStats to see what's going on. Once the map loads, the CPU temp shoots up in the mid-upper 90's Celsius and the fans are going upwards of 6000 RPMs almost immediately, within 30 seconds of the map loading. Is that safe? Is this normal? Are there different settings I should be using? I'm at 1440x900 with most settings at high. I feel that my new computer should be able to handle this without too much trouble...am I wrong?

2. Turri macrumors newbie

Having exactly the same issue. I'm afraid to play games, because of it damaging the computer... this can't be normal is it?

3. Blue Sun macrumors 6502a

I have the same machine, while using applications like Photoshop and Illustrator, it remains very cool. In fact, it is by far the coolest computer I've ever owned.

While gaming is much more stressful than PS and AI, 90 degrees C is quite warm. Have you tried installing SMC fan control and setting the fans to a higher RPM before playing? Also, what is the ambient temperature of the room you're operating the computer in? As that can drastically alter running temps.

It might be worth checking Activity Monitor as well, there could be a runaway process that is pegging the CPU (USB mouse, buggy software etc).

4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

DeltaMac

I think it will not help much to use fan control software, if the fans are already run up to maximum. Games can really stress your Mac, so expect it, and prepare for that.