eyetv hybrid vs eyetv 250 plus

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by boodyup, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. boodyup macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    Just bought an eyetv hybrid. I ran it through my dual G5 and sent it back to my tv and wasn't impressed with the video quality. It ran a little better on my new mac mini (I love the mini!!!) but was wondering what kind of performance I would get from the 250 when viewing HD Channels.

    Can I expect better performance from the 250 on HD channels or are the two models comparable? I noticed that the Hybrid seemed to lag somewhat when there was movement onscreen. Also, will I be able to get Comcast HD channels? I plan on upgrading to HD service soon.

    [My apologies if this has been addressed: I've searched through some of the threads and I didn't see anything make mention of the HD capability that is now available to 250.]
     
  2. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

    rkdiddy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    OC Baby!
    #2
  3. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    elgato's ads are clear. The eyetv product line is able to receive digital cable programming in Clear QAM format. These include your broadcast channels carried by your local Comcast affiliate. My guess is that it will also include the music channels. You should should receive these with any Clear QAM-capable receiver with your current service plan. You will not receive the scrambled channels. This means that your eyetv will receive none of your cable-only HD channels now or after you upgrade your service. You can view these channels only with Comcast's equipment.
     
  4. boodyup thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #4
    results

    None of this stuff is very clear to me, however, I was able to connect my digital HD Converter box to my eyeTV hybrid by running cable from the coax out on the converter to the hybrid. As long as I have it on channel 3 on the eyeTV software, I can see whatever channel the HD box is on.

    I guess what I'm realizing is that the eyeTV is limited to standard def channels and Over the Air HD stuff.
     
  5. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    You completely misunderstood my previous post. The limitation in your current setup is your cable box, not your eyeTV. The cable box outputs to Channel 3 or Channel 4. Your current cable box cannot handle HD. When you upgrade to HD service, then you will most likely be issued a new cable box or DVR. Whether new or old, your cable box allows you to view one channel at a time.

    It makes absolutely no sense to connect an eyeTV to the output of your cable box. My previous post dealt with what you can see without your cable box. Without it, you can see all of the broadcast HD channels carried by your provider, its digital music channels, and the analog channels on the basic service tier--if you have a receiver with NTSC/Clear QAM tuners.

    Instead of connecting your service directly to your cable box, you should connect it to a splitter. One output goes from your splitter to the cable box. At least one other output would go to your eyeTV. You will not be able to record scrambled channels or non-broadcast HD channels on your eyeTV, but you will be better off than you are now. And who knows, Universal HD is one cable HD channel that was almost unscrambled. With Comcast now controlling NBC Universal, perhaps Universal HD and other NBC Universal properties will be permitted through in the clear. We can hope.
     

Share This Page