eyeTV Hybrid Without Cable TV

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by AzRocks, Aug 31, 2008.

1. AzRocks macrumors newbie

I do not have cable, satellite, fios, or any paid TV service. Just over the air free broadcasting. I am considering purchising the eyeTV hybrid. How would I connect to the eyeTV? Also, every thing would work correctly... right? And, does anyone know the difference between the eyeTV hybrid that came out this year vs. the older one?

Thanks for any help!

2. anxcd38 macrumors newbie

eyeTV Hybrid

I have been using the older one for about two years now and it works great. I was tuning in HDTV channels with a MacBook for over a year, driving a 30" tube HDTV that did not have a tuner. I used the MacBook's mini-DV out, Apple's converter to DVI, then a cable that took DVI to HDMI for the tv's input.

Worked great, recorded all sorts of sports and OTA tv shows in glorious uncompressed hi-def...much better quality that what we were getting thru TWC in Dallas.

The only difference I know of is that the newer stick comes with their updated version of the eyeTV software. I have updated as far as possible without having to pay an upgrade fee and I'm still very happy using it on a PowerMac G5.

3. AzRocks thread starter macrumors newbie

OK, thats one question answered... How about the non-cable issue? Thanks!

4. ayzee macrumors 6502a

ayzee

Do you live in the states? Im not exactly sure how it works over there but id imagine that if you connect your aerial to the hybrid, the eye tv should be able to scan and pick up the free over air stations.

Here in England we also have free stations but over digital as well as analog. The Hybrid can broadcast both.

5. AzRocks thread starter macrumors newbie

Yep, I live in the US. So can I buy a set of "rabbit ears" and connect it to the eyeTV, to make it work? And will it still work after the DTV switch?

6. anxcd38 macrumors newbie