EyeTv users

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Dman24, Apr 21, 2008.

1. Dman24 macrumors newbie

I have been looking for something to use as DVR/TV tuner for my macbook. I have recently heard of EyeTV and like what I see. Is it too good to be true? I have IO Digital Cable, no current DVR or dvd recorder and am sick of recording onto a VHS tape. This is 2008 after all. Anyone familiar with this product? Is it worth the money? How about Over The Air HDTV? I know I am throwing a lot out there but I am new to all this and any information would be greatly appreciated.

2. ski2moro macrumors 6502

I have a EyeTV Hybrid and a 2.5 GHz MBP with 2 GB RAM. I use it as a DVR all the time and it has performed well. Recently I used it as a DVR in another state with a different cable company and the Titan TV listings enabled me to set it up to record without any problems. It's a memory hog, though, and I wouldn't plan on doing anything else while it's recording.

I have been able to transfer the recording to my ipod without problems.

Can't comment on HD.

Although someone told me that pay programming on cable is not able to be recorded, I have recorded HBO by using the coax out of the cable box to EyeTV and clicking Record. I did not set it up to record with Titan TV.

As I remember, I got the EyeTV Hybrid and Toast as a combo/special offer during WWDC 2 years ago. Might be worth waiting to see if they do a special offer this year.

3. quovadis macrumors regular

quovadis

I use the EyeTV hybrid to watch OTA HD TV and have had great experience. Get a good hd Tv antenna (about $30 on Amazon) and you are good to go.

Recording shows works great too.

4. Dman24 thread starter macrumors newbie

What kind of antenna do you use? This is for anyone, just so I have a few options. I see mixed reviews for just about every antenna, but thats probably due to location, obstacles in the area and other location differences.

5. quovadis macrumors regular

quovadis