eyetv

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by iSaygoodbye, May 13, 2009.

  1. iSaygoodbye macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #1
    So i recently found out about the eyetv and have a few questions about it.Is it 10.4 tiger compatible?How does it plug into my computer?It just records whats on the screen or what?Can i have it record somethign when im not there?Thanks guys
     
  2. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #2
    I have 2 EyeTV 250+'s.

    One runs under Leopard, one on Tiger. Both work equally well.

    Those devices are USB to the computer.

    It records what you tell it to from the input you have chosen. I record satellite with manual timers on the composite input.

    I also record unattended in a separate "recording" account.

    IT's worked very well for me the last year.
     
  3. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    It works with Tiger.
    It plugs in to a USB port.
    It can be set to record anything you want, not just what's on the screen; it's essentially a DVR.

    One caveat - it only has one tuner, so you can only record one show at once, and you can't watch live TV and record another show at the same time. You can watch a recording and record something else at the same time.
     
  4. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #4
    Not if you buy the EyeTV diversity, it has two tuners, I often record overlapping shows using it.

    Cheers, Ed.
     
  5. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #5
    The Diversity is not available in the US, which is where the OP is from (I checked his website).

    Not to worry though. The dual tuner HDHomeRun works with EyeTV, although it's only a ATSC/QAM tuner device ... meaning it won't record from auxiliary inputs like composite or s-video.
     
  6. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #6
    The Diversity wasn't available in my country either - I imported it :)
     
  7. Ttownbeast macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    #7
    eyetv was working well for a bit for me but lately I have this green crap coming across the screen
     
  8. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    Well, not only is the Diversity not available in the US, an imported Diversity won't work in the US since we use a different digital format. We use ATSC and I think Europe (and NZ) uses DVB, right?

    ft
     
  9. iSaygoodbye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #9
    so let me get this straight.i just plug a usb port into my computer and then a red,yellow,white color plug into my tv and tell it what to record?
     
  10. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #10
    No, that's not how these EyeTV devices work. In fact, these devices don't even connect to your TV (unless your Mac is connected to your TV).

    Here's how you hook them up.

    Connect the EyeTV device to your Mac using USB2 (or via network if you have the HDHomeRun). Connect a source to your EyeTV device, typically coax from an antenna or cable outlet. You can also connect an auxiliary AV source to the EyeTV device so that you can record the output of a cable/sat box, VCR, DVD player, etc. The EyeTV software handles all of the viewing and recording. You watch the shows on your Mac, not your TV .. unless your Mac is connected to the TV.

    ft
     
  11. Gerg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    #11
    Once you've recorded content with the EyeTV software, you can have it automatically exported to iTunes, and access that content through an iPod or AppleTV.
     
  12. mscriv macrumors 601

    mscriv

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #12
    I've wondered about devices like this for a little while now so here's some questions.

    1. What's the user interface like? Is it as simple as the guide on a cable/satellite provider. Can you program it to record specific shows at specific times for the entire season etc. ?

    2. If it uses your cable/satellite connection then do you get every channel that you have on your TV or are some the channels not going to be available? Obviously it's not going to get channels that are not a part of your plan, but will you lose anything for any reason?

    3. What's are the uses or advantages of having something like this vs. your cable/satellite company's integrated DVR? I guess I'm just not seeing the practical use beyond archive or collection of stuff you want to keep. I get the ability to put something on your iPod etc, but if you have a nice big screen tv and watch all of your media on that then what's the point in recording it to your computer and having to convert or burn it in order to make it available to your tv. It seems like for normal watch and delete kind of stuff just using your provider's DVR is way more simple.

    4. Is there a way to use this technology without having a cable/satellite provider?

    5. Someone mentioned an auxiliary input and connecting the cable/satellite box to the device. Can you record stuff from your provider DVR to your computer this way? That type of archiving makes sense to me. There are definitely times I record something to my regular DVR and think I wish I had a way to get that off of there without losing quality.

    I think this stuff is cool and I want to learn more about it because it seems like I'm missing something. Thanks.
     
  13. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #13
    Go look here - pictures and info.

    http://www.elgato.com/elgato/na/mainmenu/products/software/EyeTV3/product1.en.html

    I find it easy... and yes, you can set up repeating and all that.

    I actually got MORE channels when i had the cable hooked up because of the digital HD stuff in it. Sat feed is the same.

    Personal preference.... what you need.... i record school classes for my kids. To the tune of 900 DVDs this past year - i don't have enough disk space to store it!

    You can use it for OTA stuff with an antennae input.

    Yes you can do this....
     
  14. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #14
    In addition to what Tracy said above ...

    The tuners that are on-board these EyeTV devices are only used for cable and OTA. If you use cable and have a STB, you will probably not have as many channels available to you using the EyeTV tuner. Premium channels that are encrypted will not be accessible using the EyeTV tuner. For recording stuff like HBO and other encrypted channels like ESPN/digital, you'll need to use it in conjunction with a STB. NOTE - some cable systems have been opening up their "extended" tier digital channels. I can now record the digital versions of extended basic channels like ESPN, Bravo, etc.

    Well, a lot of folks don't like the cable company's STBs. Having a computer serving as a Media Center can be more flexible. You can have access to your TV shows, Hulu, web surfing, etc. You don't necessarily have to burn CDs and DVDs.

    Yes, use an antenna.

    If you want to archive stuff from your DVR and retain as much quality as possible, look into using the Hauppauge HD-PVR 1212. It has component inputs that can record up to 1080i in h.264 format. The EyeTV devices will only record off of s-video or composite and only in SD. NOTE - the Hauppauge HD-PVR doesn't have any tuners, but it is compatible with EyeTV used in conjuction with a STB. NOTE2 - if you don't want to pay $90 for EyeTV to use the Hauppauge with a Mac, you can look at Steven Toth's application. He charges $30.

    ft
     

Share This Page