F@H with ATI 7750

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by DeSnousa, May 1, 2013.

  1. DeSnousa, May 1, 2013
    Last edited: May 2, 2013

    DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #1
    I am getting some folding happening again. I have a decent work computer with a i7 3770 :D

    I also have decided to put my home computer to use. I have an old AMD Phenom 2 at 3GHz with a ATI HD 7770. What PPD should I expect from the HD7770? It says it is good for about 3000-4000 PPD which don't really seem worth the power cost.

    I have been reading that it is best to have a few WUs running on the card? It also takes away a core from the CPU to GPU fold :(

    What are your recommendations for this set up?
     
  2. DeSnousa, May 2, 2013
    Last edited: May 2, 2013

    DeSnousa thread starter macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #2
    Sorry it is a ATI 7750.

    On a side note what PPD do you think a i7-3770 should get. I'm getting stats of 4000-17000? Inconsistent WU?
     
  3. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    it will depend on the WU. normally ATI cards aren't near as good as nvidia, and all GPUs require more power than CPU folding.

    it's hard to say what ppd to expect without having the setup myself. it's best to start folding with them and share your results here, so we all get to see what kind of ppd you get!
     
  4. DeSnousa thread starter macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #4
    Here is a screen capture of my current WU on the i7-3770 @3.4Ghz (system says at 3.64Ghz)

    I thought it would produce better results than what has been seen :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. DeSnousa thread starter macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #5
    Okay after keeping an eye on the work computer via VNC I have found that if I am not logged into the computer it decreases output by around 2/3.

    The computer runs Windows 8 and I have the power options set to full. Does Dell potentiall put settings in the BIOS or something? Can't think of why it slows down when I am not using it?
     

Share This Page