F1-F2 No Brightness Control

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Washac, May 10, 2011.

  1. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Hi

    I have a 24inch ACD that when plugged into my laptop you can control the brightness via
    the F1 - F2 keys.

    When I use this monitor on my Mac Pro and yes I do plug in all leads, the F1 - F2 function keys do nothing, strange thing is in System Prefs/Displays/ there is no brightness control.

    The keyboard used on the Mac Pro also has no issues as it has been tested on my iMac, and the Keyboard settings in Prefs are all set OK.
     
  2. sjordan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #2
    Is the monitor color calibrated? If so the software maybe locking it out...my color calibration software does this.
     
  3. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    What settings are set within System Preferences > Keyboard?

    Screen shot 2011-05-10 at 20.07.24.png
     
  4. Washac, May 10, 2011
    Last edited: May 10, 2011

    Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #4
    Hi

    Yes I have used colour calibration in the past, I used to Spyder 2 Express on my machine and used to use it, but I removed it sometime back.
     
  5. Washac, May 10, 2011
    Last edited: May 10, 2011

    Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #5
    Hi

    As in your picture and stated nothing.
     
  6. discounteggroll macrumors 6502

    discounteggroll

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Greenwich, CT
    #6
    you need to make sure that "use all F1, F2, etc" as standard function keys is unchecked when you go to system preferences - keyboard
     
  7. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #7
    Hi


    As stated twice before it is UNCHECKED.
     

Share This Page