Facebook 3.2 Update

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by Resist, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. Resist macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #1
    Just updated the Facebook app to 3.2, and thought it would fix the extra blank favorite page my app keeps showing but it didn't. I have 3 pages when I should only have 2 showing. Anyone else having this issue?
     
  2. andylyon macrumors 6502a

    andylyon

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I used to get this problem, it was only a small prob but still very annoying. It disappeared a while ago for me but I dont know how so cant help you there. Have you tried reinstalling?
     
  3. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #3
    for some reason i can't log in to facebook with the new app. i'll have to check it out on my other non-jailbroken iphone.
     
  4. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #4
    got the new version - and I see places - but doesn't work yet here in NYC - at least, not on my phone
     
  5. BruiserBear macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #5
    I live near Chicago and it says places isn't available in my area yet. Weird that they would tell the world about this yesterday, and then launch the app when it doesn't work at all.

    Hopefully they get it fixed soon.
     
  6. bbotte macrumors 65816

    bbotte

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    If it's not available in NYC and Chicago, it must not be available anywhere. It told me it's not available in Ohio either, but I would expect it to work in NYC before Ohio.

    Also can't believe this is not an iPad and iPhone app. What the heck is facebook waiting for on the iPad? I hate the website.
     
  7. 8bitchris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Tennesee
  8. drewc1138 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #8
    You hate the website? That's a little extreme.

    Why do you want a Facebook app for iPad? The only thing I could possibly think you would need it for would be for uploading pictures. Beyond that, just going to the website in Safari is more than sufficient.
     
  9. tsuehpsyde macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    #9
    Same here. Not sure what's up. Using the website for now.
     
  10. bbotte macrumors 65816

    bbotte

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Um, did I stutter? The app doesn't throw all the adds and crap at me. It's cleaner.
     
  11. david77 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #11
    The popup windows don't work correctly in Safari. It's awkward to block items in your News Feed. It's tough to tap the notifications and message icons. There are enough reasons for there to be an iPad app.
     
  12. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #12
    There's hardly any ad's on Facebook.com.

    But, in saying that, sometimes I have to use Facebook.com on my iPhone because simple things like checking Event wall post comments (i.e. a comment on a post by someone on the wall) don't show up. There's other things missing too.

    But then the full site doesn't work correctly on the iPhone - trying to navigate is a nightmare, as it won't register taps.
     
  13. bw1128 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #13
    i just upgraded too, but everything i try to load, wall post, news feed all come as error. whats wrong? but i do see the new places icon but still the error comes when clicked.
     
  14. danno1769 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #14
    Same here

    It shows my picture on my wall and then Unable to load your wall. Live feed shows nothing.

    Also jailbroken here
     
  15. bli625 macrumors 6502a

    bli625

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #15
    I can't login either.

    This was from the other thread.


     
  16. sportster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    #16
    I updated mine this am, and places does not work in Houston.

    I am still having an issue with facebook not loading new post when I open it. I have to manually tell it to download new post. This started a while ago, back even with my old 3Gs
     
  17. circusbass macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    #17
    No longer tap to update the main page. Just pull down and release. Seems like the shake to refresh option is gone.
     
  18. theARNSKI macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #18
    Likewise. Just finished the update and 'Places' has yet to work in Sacramento, CA.
     
  19. csjo00 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Arkansas
  20. swinneyn macrumors member

    swinneyn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Location:
    san francisco, ca
    #20
    doesn't work in sacramento, ca yet. I'm guessing since it doesn't work in NYC or Chicago that it doesn't work anywhere yet?

    I wish they would add the ability to like comments in the app, not an important feature, but it would be nice.
     
  21. Matthew. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #21
    I didn't check in 3.2, but shake to reload is present in 3.2.1, do you have it disabled in your Facebook settings?

    When viewing a friends profile, the button in the upper right corner will bring up a list of actions, poke included.
     
  22. notintheleast macrumors 6502

    notintheleast

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    #22
    After installing the update, I also couldn't load new posts or photos, and now after a reinstall I can't even log in.

    I'm JB, so I also tried disabling biteSMS in sbsettings and had no luck.

    On the plus side, I've never used the FB mobile site before and I'm finding it performs as well as the app ever did. Also as previously mentioned it shows you more updates than the app did. I'll stick with mobile site saved to the springboard for now.
     
  23. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
  24. Natesac macrumors 6502a

    Natesac

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas,Tx
    #24
    I have some questions about this before I start using it.

    If I check in at "home" is this going to create a check in that random people in the neighborhood are going to see when they are searching for checkin locations near them?

    I get that only my friends will see where and when I check in, but if I create a check in for home, is Facebook going to see that as a new public location for unrelated Facebook users to check in?
     
  25. countrydweller macrumors 6502

    countrydweller

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #25
    Places works now, at least here in Idaho/Washington.
     

Share This Page