General FaceTime Audio only works if both parties have FaceTime Audio.

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by moonman239, Oct 21, 2013.

  1. moonman239 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #1
    I just found out that you can't initiate a FaceTime Audio call with anyone who is logged in to FaceTime. The person you want to call must also have FaceTime installed. Otherwise, you can initiate a video call or a regular call that costs minutes.
     
  2. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #2
    I don't get FaceTime audio. Isn't it essentially VOIP, which has been available on the iPhone for a few years?
     
  3. Sonnestah macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #4
    "FaceTime Audio only works if both parties have FaceTime Audio"

    Shocking :eek:
     
  4. CBJammin103 macrumors regular

    CBJammin103

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Louisiana, United States
    #5
    To be fair, it seems possible that it could simply present a blank video feed to devices running older software.
     
  5. dannyyankou macrumors 603

    dannyyankou

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #6
    And phone calls only work with other people that have a phone!!? *hit :eek: ;)
     
  6. j4zb4 macrumors 6502a

    j4zb4

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #7
    In other news: phone calls only work if the other person has a telephone... :p
     
  7. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #8
    high five only works if both parties have a hand
     
  8. matttye macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #9
    Which would use a heck of a lot of data.. would be an incredibly bad implementation.
     
  9. zamudiovsky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #10
    Also, i just found out that whatsapp messages only work when both parties have whatsapp...

    hahaha jk, I mean, it makes sense, it has it's own protocols to communicate
     
  10. ziggie216 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #11
    I just found out that FaceTime Audio only works if both parties have an iPhone
     
  11. Eitel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #12
    Wrong.

    It works if you have an iPad also. :p

    :D
     
  12. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #13
    Yes but it's built in. No extra apps to install. No need to leave an app running in the background, which kills battery.
     
  13. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #14
    An extra app to install? Seems like a paltry benefit. And saying FaceTime is not running in the background is like saying your phone or message app isn't running in the background. They're always in the background. Not wanting an additional app in the background would have been more accurate.
     
  14. cmichaelb macrumors 68020

    cmichaelb

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas
    #16
    I know! I'm still picking my jaw up off of the floor :confused:

    ----------

    lmao
     
  15. CyBeRino macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #17
    No it wouldn't. A wholly black image is very easy to compress, and the spec allows for multiple size video feeds (i.e., it can handle both 640x480 and HD, so it's not dependent on video resolution) so you could just send it a very small, black image with the most terrible compression known to man.

    Also, depending on implementation, you could say you were going send it a video feed but then in practise not actually send one.
     
  16. ziggie216 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #18
    you got me there, I should have said iDevice
     
  17. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #19
    But the whole Phone app and Messages app
    and Facetime app aren't running in the background. Those services are built into the core system. You don't need to have the apps running to get a phone call or a text message.

    Thus they use much fewer resources than leaving an app running, which is what third-party VOIP services require.
     
  18. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #20
    Yes they are running in background. If your phone was jail broken, you could look at sbs settings to see this. In addition, Safari is always running and Music app runs a lot too.

    http://www.everythingicafe.com/forum/threads/processes-always-running.47560/
     
  19. FSMBP macrumors 68020

    FSMBP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #21
    Big benefit not needing a third-party app. For example, I can Facetime audio with ANYONE with an iPhone 5C or 5S (since they shipped with iOS 7). I don't have to worry if they have Skype, if they even have a Skype account etc.

    It's like iMessage. It's built-in, no user name, no extra thing to download and have to have the latest version or else it won't connect.
     
  20. antiprotest macrumors 65816

    antiprotest

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #22
    If you think that's something, wait till you find out that any kind of call only works if the other person has a phone. I was terribly shocked and disappointed when I discovered this fatal flaw in my smartphone.
     
  21. GenesisST macrumors 68000

    GenesisST

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Where I live
    #23
    Tin can telephones only work when you have two cans!
     
  22. antiprotest macrumors 65816

    antiprotest

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #24
    Stop! I can't handle it! I'd rather not know.
     
  23. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #25
    Legitimate reason, assuming the person you're trying to reach owns an Apple product. It would be better if Apple made FaceTime an open standard like they said they would.
     

Share This Page