Facetime bandwidth

Discussion in 'iPad' started by drambuie, Nov 30, 2011.

  1. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #1
    Does anyone have a handle on how much bandwidth the iPad 2 uses for the two way stream in a Facetime connection, in MB per minute? It would be useful to know before trying a Facebook communication with a 3G connection.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    I forget the exact data rate, but it isn't much. It's low enough that it can work over a poor 3G connection though. But I've never gotten it to work over EDGE.
     
  3. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
  4. drambuie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #4
    Thanks. That's not bad for the quality of the video. I made my first Facetime call yesterday and found the incoming video to be fairly smooth for 1.5MB/min.
     
  5. tips macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Location:
    On Top Of The World
    #5
    Was that over 3G ?, , if so, Sprint/ATT or Verizon ?.
     
  6. drambuie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #6
    It was on WiFi. I don't have the 3G active yet, as I am still deciding on a carrier and plan. Here, in Canada the iPads come unlocked. You obtain and install a micro-SIM for the carrier of your choosing, then activate it. You are free to cancel and change carriers at any time.
     
  7. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    lucky canada....
     
  8. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
  9. tips macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Location:
    On Top Of The World
    #9
    Yes, I think they are unlocked
    But they are either GSM(ATT,TMOBILE+... or CDMA(verizon,sprint,+..) in USA.

    ----------

    How to measure bandwidth ?.
     
  10. codyc1515 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #10
    Nope:

    "Apple appears to have reversed course in Japan on a key feature of its iPad 3G: It won't offer a version capable of being used with different cellular carriers there."

    "All Japanese models will be SIM-locked to Softbank Mobile, Apple's iPhone partner in Japan, Apple said late Monday. The company confirmed the presence of a SIM lock but couldn't immediately explain why it was enforcing the restriction in Japan."

    Source: http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/article/195923/apple_to_simlock_japanese_ipads.html
     

Share This Page