FaceTime calls don't use cell mins

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by finatk, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #2
    As Facetime ONLY works via WiFi, we did not need that confirmed.:eek:
     
  2. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #3
    even if it did use your minutes, it currently only works from iPhone 4 to iPhone 4, which means Mobile to Mobile and that doesn't use your minutes either.


    (Mobile to Mobile wile using AT&T in USA)
     
  3. LewisFielder macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    Kent
    #4
    Thanks for confirming that, we all thought that it was our minutes that is used. Your to awesome.
     
  4. finatk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #5
    Don't thank me, Thank the Apple :apple: Home wreckers themselves Gizmodo ;)
     
  5. Dokk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    IA, TX ... I never know
    #6
    +1. I was operating under the assumption that it used both (perhaps the cell call for audio and WiFi for the video); but whether it uses the cell signal or not seems to be moot point.
     
  6. JediZenMaster macrumors 68000

    JediZenMaster

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Location:
    Portland,Oregon
    #7
    Maybe, Maybe not. Because AT&T offers the video share option on some of it's dumbphones and smartphones and you have to pay for that seperately so it doesn't count as M2M. But with the video share the sender is the one who pays not the person recieving it.
     
  7. b166er macrumors 68020

    b166er

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Location:
    Philly
    #8
    I never suspected out minutes were at risk for all the reasons already mentioned. When they roll it out on 3G and/or start letting us use it to make video calls with other, non-facetime services then I wouldn't be shocked if we got dinged with a charge or two ;)
     
  8. Downey92 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #9
    Only with the ***** that is AT&T, it'll likely work quite well on the rest of the worlds networks.
     

Share This Page