Facetime Internet Speed Requirement

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Resist, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. Resist macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #1
    I get it that Facetime will only be used with Wifi, but how fast of an Internet connection is needed at both phones, for Facetime to look crisp and not be choppy?
     
  2. DaGreat01 macrumors 6502a

    DaGreat01

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    #2
    No one on here owns an iPhone 4. No one on here will own one until the 24th. So no one on here can answer your question. And im pretty sure no one on here will be able to answer your question after they have the phone either.

    Just sayin...
     
  3. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    Best response.
     
  4. Resist thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #4
    True, but Apple should have some minimum internet speed requirements published for this function to work properly. I just can't find any. Unless Apple believes everyone is using broadband speeds now.
     
  5. DaGreat01 macrumors 6502a

    DaGreat01

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    #5
    Probably any signal strong enough for the phone to pick up will work.
     
  6. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #6
    Chances are if you dont have dial up than your good to go. Id probably think at the most you would need is a 3mb connection for zero stutter
     
  7. Resist thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #7
    I am not talking about Wifi signal strength or speed, I am talking about the internet speed after the Wifi connects the phone.
     
  8. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #8
    iChat for Mac wants either a 100, 500, or 900 Kbps connection for "Good," "Better," and "Best" quality.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1771

    Which isn't too bad, honestly.

    I'm guessing Face Time will be something similar. Dunno if it will have the different quality levels or not. Probably.
     
  9. Resist thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #9
    I was thinking the same thing, but then wondered if it was in HD format.
     
  10. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #10
    For those numbers, iChat isn't HD.

    Facetime won't be either. It uses the front camera which is not HD. Sure, you CAN switch it to the back camera but why would it switch between HD and not-HD? That's just needlessly confusing and a waste of bandwidth. I'm pretty sure Face Time will not be HD at any point.
     
  11. doubleatheman macrumors 6502a

    doubleatheman

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #11
    I guess Probably 300kbps, seems reasonable.

    And most people with dsl get at least that speed.

    Variable rate also biased on how fast of a connection you have is a good possibility.
     
  12. Resist thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #13
    I already looked on Apple's site before starting this thread and couldn't find anything about it.
     
  13. turugara macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #14

    I disagree. I feel like in a year AAPL will come out with Face Time....in HD as a brand new feature of the new iPhone and its 4G network.
     
  14. Armeniandave macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    #15
    This would be good to know so we can guess if it will work
    on 3G with 3G unrestrictor.
    Probably won't know till we try it though!
     

Share This Page